You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No more comments section on Youtube soon?

in #youtube5 years ago

Nobody reads YouTube comments except the trolls themselves. Advertisers are worried about something that doesn't really exist. Though if it means fewer annoying ads on YouTube, let them worry I guess.

Sort:  

I read ALL my comment below my videos and respond as much as possible to all of them. I remove any inappropriate ones. And I have certain terms and words in my list of words that ensure the comment doesn't get posted. And it's not just small creators like me, Roberto Blake who has 400K subs reads comments and responds to most of them.

Yeah, it makes sense that the creators of videos themselves would look at the comments, but I think very few viewers do. Few enough that any concerned advertisers are basically worrying about nothing.

That and it's as simple as a creator going into their channel settings and typing up any words or expressions they deem to be inappropriate for their channel and comments with those words will get filtered out. And then those comments would basically be non existent. And YouTube could create a preset of key words for users and they just copy and paste. It's so easy to filter out unwanted comments on YouTube.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting, I didn't know those options existed. Thanks for letting me know.

A pleasure ;)

I read them though.. sometimes.. okay more than sometimes.

Really? Oh. I guess I have no idea what I'm talking about then.

But people know how comments sections work. Nobody would actually think an advertiser is endorsing anything written there. (Is that a better blanket statement?)

There are commercial videos without comment sections. (Means: comments are disabled.)
The quite controversial German band Rammstein doesn't allow comments on their videos too.

Also, there are options to have comments on videos moderated to a varying extent.

Good point. You're right about that. It's always an option for the video's creator to disable comments if they feel it's necessary or in their interests to do so.

Yes, better haha

I read the comments all the time, best engagement.

exactly, it's pretty good about half the time!

Sounds like the consensus is I'm too cynical. That may be true.

I even read the comments before watching the videos!

IMG_20190223_212100.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80