You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1 Egg = 5 Cigarettes - True or False? / Does Animal Injustice Taste Good to You?

in #youtube7 years ago (edited)

I'm not trying to get political, and I'm not trying to debate or troll. I'm just going to throw something out there that just came to mind. See, I have no problem using animals for food and goods. I do have a problem with killing animals for no purpose than to boost the bottom line. So, I have a serious problem with the "disposal" of male chicks within the egg farming industry. I'd like to see that practice halted as much as anyone. Here's the controversial part that is meant as food for thought only:

How can anyone take seriously saving the lives of "useless" chickens, while a large percentage of western citizens still believe that abortion on demand is, not only their right, but something to be considered good?

How can we say: "babies are inconvenient and costly, therefore I have the right to kill them."

followed by: "Just because these animals are inconvenient and costly does not give you the right to kill them!"

If that's not skewed logic then I woke up in an alternate dimension of pure chaos this morning.

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to view some material and write about your side of the spectrum. I'm glad your grandparents were able to eat many things that did not have a negative impact on their health. I cannot say the same for my family. I grew up with a similar type of family with a dairy farm where my grandmother cooked with animal (bacon) grease (never wasting it - she would even add into the dog's food), cooked fried bologna sandwiches, and then to the polar opposite to having the traditional Polish meals. I saw the health impacts it had on my family. She suffered terribly for many years before she recently passed away. It was so devastating and painful to watch her not be able to help herself when she could have changed her eating habits but never did. My grandfather recently suffered from not only his first stroke but is recovering from a massive stroke, along with other heart diseases. Not to mention both had heart-attacks. I can attest to you that they, along with others in my family have been the reason for the changes I want to make within myself. I don't believe it is all "genetic" based because a few years ago eating a more whole-food plant-based diet I was able to heal my own body from issues that were making me ill. I have seen countless times where people who changed what they were eating essentially healed themselves and were able to get off of the prescription drugs (which I thought was fantastic because now they are able to live a better life of being able to THRIVE instead of just getting by). I have been digging through studies and research when I can and I keep seeing these links to what they used to eat (some who are alive still do) and the negative impact of disease running rampant through their bodies. So bottom line is - all I can do is be the change I want to see, and with being that change I hope I can inspire others to do better for themselves and their loved ones so they can thrive. Not only that but change needs to occur on the Earth as a whole because our rate of consumption is doing more harm than good to the environment and animals.

Again, we are all free to do what we would choose to do as of these moments in time. I hope you were able to learn something as you have also given me some other perspectives. I hope we can both be a positive change for this world, one step/day at a time. Peace be with you!

I'm sorry to hear about the health problems your grandmother suffered. It's like I said before, moderation. If all you eat is meat and potatoes, it will probably result in the issues you mentioned. Italian food (and Mediterranean food in general) is quite healthy. It's mostly vegetables and fish in Italy. Not so in America, but olive oil and garlic are mainstays wherever Italian food is prepared. So it's going to be healthy to some degree (even with all the bread).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43