You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Interviewing a Hitman: Damnable or not?

in #youtube7 years ago

I agree with @celsius100's comment that if he is willing to tell the story then it is going to get out, no matter what. As the person providing the outlet for the story, however, you have the opportunity to frame the story in the way you would like. It gives you the opportunity to show how you feel about the story while still giving your audience the information popeye relayed to you. I think as a journalist it is important to share information with the world, and as a journalist it is also important that you frame the story appropriately based on your own morals. It is one way to not neccesarily set aside your morals, yet still be able to interact with people like popeye.

Sort:  

I don't know if a journalist "framing" a story is still independent journalism. What I wish we could have done (which was a logistical impossibility because of a lack of time and resources), is talk to some of the relatives of his victims. That would have achieved exactly the same end goal that you are talking about without taking a biased stance.

Yeah, that is really what I meant by framing. Showing different view points and allowing the viewer to decide, it still allows you to shape the story. Most raw unedited stories can be convoluted, hard to follow, or even biased without the journalist creating balance and framework for the information they are trying to relay. Maybe you and @theywillkillyou will have to make a trip back down to speak with some of the victims or victims relatives. From his comment seems he'd be up for it!

Oh for sure, Colombia was beautiful too. I've done a good amount of travelling but I was blown away at time. From a production point of view it's realistic for us to go back for that. This was our first time and we made plenty of mistakes. We will have to learn from those mistakes and keep comments like yours in mind and then we will have to try and do something similar with a person that is fascinating enough to intrigue people. Thanks a lot for your input.

See this is what I love about steemit, content creators and content viewers able to work together and give feedback! I'll be following along for sure, and one of these days I need to make it down to Colombia too. My wife was there a few years back and had the most amazing time!

Medellin, Cartagena and Armenia. They were all beautiful, cheap, safe and people were incredibly friendly! Speaking a little bit of Spanish is advised tough! I didn't so I had to rely mostly on Angelo, a translator and some other friends of us that live there.

Yeah, I have business partners in Colombia that I would have to rely on, but thats just even more of a reason to head there. I'll have to look into Cartagena, had never thought to travel there before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63342.86
ETH 2731.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64