Steemit $500 per blog post reward limit, and the YouTube network effect campaign - August 24, 2016

in #youtube8 years ago (edited)

I've spent $600 in the past 3 days buying steem tokens.

The word illusion is the fearful way of saying the word reflection, thinking that I am being eluded by an outside force rather than knowing I am reflecting my self.

Religion = system of belief, anything that is not now and relies on confirmation of other, to rely on = religion

BLISS = because life is so sweet.

Follow @craig-grant

have fun :)

Sort:  

There is 27,000 Steem being handed out to posters and voters everyday.

I like the idea of having a maximum amount that a post can earn, this will for sure distribute the rewards more equally... we may not see 15k posts anymore but we will have a lot more 100 dollar posts and I think that is what will make steemit successful.

Good Video, enjoyed watching it as always!

and I enjoyed reading your comment, it's a great summation of the video :)

It doesn't matter how much the post gets in Steem Dollars. What matters is the flow of Steem Power, and this artificially slows down the flow of Steem Power from whales to Dolphins and minnows. Some minnows have surpassed me such as @dollarvigilante because of these sorts of large reward posts and I'm fine with it because a lot of people like what he posts and like him in general.

Even if it means my posts could get slightly more money, I'm not going to want to suppress his posts because it would slow the flow of Steem Power to where it needs to be, and that is to whomever makes the best posts.

I do think Vloggers should be rewarded more but I'm not a whale. I guess also it depends on the topics the Vloggers choose but I do agree on that.

@dollarvigilante would post for $500, and eventually he will be posting for $500, because as time goes one there will be a larger pool steemit publishers who need to share a limited amount of rewards

I have to strongly disagree. I prefer blog posts over videos. I can read at my own pace. With a video, unless it's from a favorite blogger I don't tune in for more than 8 mins or so.

Vlogs are in no way superior to blogs to me simply a different media. I prefer podcastsbecause I can listen on the go when I can't be searching or browsing or watching.

Why bother promoting YouTube? Steemit should make their own file hosting service and not even worry about YouTube for the future. You are among the elite in the fact that you can make a decent amount on YouTube and have a following. I wouldn't advise people to start vlogging on YouTube now. It's not very lucrative for newbies.

I don't think capping post earnings is wise either. People won't try as hard if they know they can hit a certain level each time. Why would you bother?

I usually enjoy your posts and you may have more knowledge in crypto and what's best for steemit long term, but my feeling is that if what you say were implemented that you would not be happy. Why not cap YouTube videos at $5? Because there are so many of them. I don't think your argument holds up.

But people can choose what they wish to believe and maybe the system you have proposed will make steemit grow. That's what I really want. Steemit to succeed regardless of tweaks needed to make it happen.

What would be the point of curating content if it were capped? One whale vote bringing it up to $300 another $200 more and now what do you have? No opportunity to add value to that post so maybe it gets skipped.

I see potential problems in your proposals that make me a bit leery. Hopefully this is not taken as a slam on you at all. I just view thing from a different angle

A steemit blogger who only types is a like a leech, as it does not cost anything to type words on a keyboard, while youtube publishers invest money into making great productions for their viewers. Steemit being promoted by vloggers who are willing to invest money for their success is what steemit needs more than bloggers who get paid for reading, typing, and copy pasting pictures

By that same token you are esentially saying that deaf, mute, or those who are camera shy are not as valuable to steemit as those who vlog. Id argue that written blogs offer even more value.

A written blog can be edited and re-edited. A vlog is often stream of conciousness and not always well thought out.

Again i ask what value you have added by making the post you have just done as a video vs a blog.

I feel that I could do the same thing by turning my camera around and video blogging my comments.

There is value in all types of media one is not more valuable than another. A song, movie and book can not be argued as to which is best. They each have their own importance.

If I had to blindly pay for a song, movie, or book. I would prefer to pay for the movie before the song or book, because it costs more to make a movie and thus I get more bang for my buck.

It's somewhat ironic that you say you would "blindly" choose because a blind person would not choose a video.

Id argue that production costs do not mean the content is better or worth more. How many times have people said "don't bother with the movie, just read the book."

Books offer a look into the mind that a movie cannot.

Is that not the very readon you wrote a book instead of released a video?

I can't claim one type of content is "most valuable" but only what content is most valuable to me.

A great blog post should earn more than a mediocre video in my opinion.

I don't believe a cap should be made for any type of media content.

There is a reason A picture is said to be worth 1,000 words. A Video should be worth tens of thousands of words.

But content is all that matters. If a picture inspires someone it can be infinitely more valuable to someone over a b horror movie regardless of budget.

So glad i am powering down....this place may never leave beta. Time to get a bite of my investment back. Something is better then nothing i guess. There is no point in getting excited on receiving steem power if the power you are earning is valued less and less everyday. Oh and yes i'll say it....feels like a scam to me..at least at this moment in time.

power down is a great move if you need the money. My flow is to go down with the steemit ship if it fails, and after that I can quit giving cryptocurrency attention and move on to something else. Until then I'm enjoying the idea of paying myself to post comments and videos, seeing the money on the screen is worth it for me, as I have nothing else to spend it on.

If steemit does not fail, then everyone else who powers down now from fear of losing money, are all putting more steem in my wallet as my steem power grows every second. The less users that new steem power is shared between is the more steem power for me :)

You obviously understand the system better then me. I'm sure you will succeed and i hope steemit will as well. But i dabbled into this crypto world and i have always been a spectator and recently made a move and failed. Things here move to quickly for me and all i want to do now is get out as soon as possible but i'm trapped. Regardless its been a fun ride....i'm just going to ignore my accounts and cash out every week whatever cents i can get back. No need to put any more effort into this platform from my point of view. Cheers Craig.

YOU SIR .. are on to something! There is nothing more discouraging to the masses to see some absolute piece of sh* post win $2000 + and you are looking at 2 cents. Certainly most of us will still be looking at that 2 cents, but at least we won't have to see that 2 grand going to people that turn our stomachs.

Yep, that's about my favourite topic on Steemit - fair distribution). I agree with you, that more fair distribution of rewards would boost Steem growth dramatically. And my second favourite topic is direct post visibility buying via Steem(coins). This would increase demand for steem on the market.

steemit needs to start testing alot more to find the best way to reward new users.. I agree bro

The REAL market cap of steem is 132milliom at least that what lock up in steem power at the moment I see it lose 1 million in one day and I have seen it go up 1 million in one day too

@marco-delsalto I'm pretty sure they are as we(Steem) are still in it's infancy :)

I totally agree with a cap, maybe the value over the top limit could be shared to the comment authors/creators or the over spill could put back into the system for daily SP payouts.

You have explained one of the big flaws in Steemit and LariNomics. The idea behind giving out big payouts is to lure in new people but manages to attract a certain "type" of person... Maybe a future HARD FORK will implement some common sense into the economics of the platform. Just be patient... I have a feeling some changes are coming but the whales need to pull far enough ahead of everyone else before the platform becomes fair. #mytwocents

steemit is targeting users who already have bitcoin, as it's easy for those users to invest and get others in the cryptocurrency space to invest. Perhaps if steem ever implements a bridge to fiat without using bitcoin, that's when steemit will care more about targeting users outside of cryptocurrency.

This is not a viable business strategy, except very short-term, because it maxed out at 5,000 daily users a month ago. One social media user is worth about $100. Do the math.

For perspective, Coindesk has about 100,000 daily visitors... and an article today bumped AMP price by 20%.

Synereo is a year away from being something more than Proof of Concept from what I've seen. But if it does have something to show then I'll blog about it and if I earn from blogging about it, I'll buy some AMPs.

So true my Bro , So so True....

This is the best video, with the most accurate marketing analysis to the exact time. You speak my mind 100 percent.
You are the best marketer and me too. I like to work with you here, you are the truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18