Got Demonetized By YouTube...... But I'm OK With It

in #youtube5 years ago

Just to be clear it was only on my Crypto channel and I didn't get a copyright strike or anything. I knew I was using a part of a song that wasn't mine and I'm actually happy about the outcome overall.

So here is the e-mail I got.

YouTube-Demonitized.png

So I filmed for over 10 days to get the footage for the last video on both my new Samsung S9 and my new GoPro 7 Black. Obviously hours and hours of footage gets edited down to less than 15 minutes but there were three audio clips that I used from other sources which I sited in the description. The first being the voice of Mike Posner before he performed live. He was just talking and strumming the guitar which I figured probably wouldn't be an issue but thought maybe it might hit the duplicate content filter.

Then the second one was a cover of Country Roads which has been sung by a lot of different artist overtime and for that section of the video it was super fitting. I wasn't sure if that would trigger anything or not since the guy signing it is mainly acting independently it seems. It brings up another question in some respects. Who did more work? The person who wrote the original song, the person who covered it, or me who is using a small piece of it in a larger video project? I would say that the person who wrote the song initially did more work than both the person who covered it and myself. Obviously I wanted to give him credit for sure. He did a really cool video to go along with it.

The third piece of audio that I used that triggered the demonetization of that video was Diplo - Revolution. It was so fitting for the time lapse I did of the city of Fort Lauderdale and crypto in general.

Here is the video I made that I'm talking about.

Conclusion

In the end any money made off that video will go to the labels behind that song Revolution. How their agreement with the artist is structured is anyone's guess I assume but in the end I'm OK with the outcome and actually think it is the right way to approach some of these disputes. Ads will still run on the video but the money will go to them.

The only better scenario would be that if an algorithm determined what percentage of a video any copyrighten material was used and then the money could be divided among the different artist and content creators. That is some complex shit but that would be cool. That way people would be incentivized to keep building on past work and success.

Truly original work is hard to 100% produce because even music itself is building from past work. Even the shots I gook under the waves was inspired by previous videos I saw where shots like that had been taken. The same with the time lapse of the city. I wouldn't have thought of doing that if I hadn't seen other timelapse sequences taken.

Sort:  

Happy New Year @brianphobos and go Out and Do a Slam Dunk for 2019 Tonight !

Thanks! Happy New Year to you as well!

I can't keep up with YouTubes policies on using music. So way back in the day using songs or footage from something was a strike and could get your account taken down. Then it seemed for a while that you could use other peoples songs nad stuff but the monetization money would just revert from you to them so they get any money your video makes which isn't bad take my ad revenue on that particular video but don't harm my account. Now it seems people are having accounts taken down.

There doesn't seem to be a lot of consistency in how this stuff is enforced either. I see some people uploading a ton of songs from artists, tv shows etc and monetizing though. I see people doing reaction videos which are really nothing but reposting someone else's content with your face in a postage stamp at the bottom of the screen.

But then you have other people who are using 5 or 10 second clips which should clearly fall under fair use and they run into issues.

I oftentimes will have some funny or clever idea of a clip to put in a video or a song to use but I'm so scared to use anything I just use nothing at all

Yeah it is tough waters to tread and especially when you really kind of get this idea of using a clip and making it more artistic and engaging but you don't want to risk these channels getting strikes or getting taken down....etc.

The thing to about free beats is usually you have to spend all day listening to different beats to find something that will work with your video....etc. Makes it tough but usually the route someone has to go.

I'm losing subscribers again on my crypto channel. It is like being on a hampster wheel talking about crypto to be honest.

Try Epidemic? It's about 10 bucks a month but would provide you with great music whilst covering you on yt.

They are a service that will allow you to use main stream songs?

Not necessarily chart songs but they have a ton of decent independent music that you can use. I think they have a trial period, maybe give them a go?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah possibly, The thing that is so tough about the independent songs is that I could end up spending a ton of time searching for something when the stuff that I used in that video project were songs I had heard and fit really well. It makes it tough to not want to use it

One other thing to checkout if you do use a service. Something that annoys me with a lot of graphic design and even music services is you have the license as long as you pay for the service but once you stop being a paying member you don't have the rights any longer so if your subbed to XYZ service for 2 years and making videos if after 2 years your like I'm sick of paying for this or I'm done making videos they pull your license on the stuff you've already done. There's a great graphic design progam called vexels that has some pretty cool images but I don't like how their licensing is setup

Yeah that would be annoying if it is like you are an indentured servant to their membership costs.

I tried it and found it easy to find good stuff. Give it a whirl.

And no, I'm not on commission!

Posted using Partiko Android

Do you maintain the rights to the songs you've used in the past after you cancel the service or do you have to be subscriped and paying customer at all times to maintain the license?

Good q, and I must confess, I don't know the answer.... One to double check in their t's & c's

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay, ill follow. i was demonetized by YouTube as well. yo could return the follow @spiritrider to see my blogs. more like vlogs because i make videos like you. good luck @brianphobos

That’s the state of YouTube these days if you’re not a preferred content provider you’re going to get a strike for pretty much everything you do, honest mistake or not!

To me it’s only good for decentralized apps eventually defectors will join in their numbers! The funny thing about defectors is they do it because they are serious about their content and want their voices heard!

I really think the social networking monopolies I thought could never crumble and continue to give us opportunity to take market share as small as it may be!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm not OK with YouTube's whole approach on this. How's it the content uploader gets a strike that's based on if the copyright holder wants to monitize or not? Some people lose their whole channel because what was OK yesterday is NOT OK today due to some copyright holder changing their mind. Meanwhile YouTube, who is the one actually taking the uploads and distributing the content gets off scott free on it? bah.. #youtubesux

Even worse is some companies selectively enforcing their copyright or trademark. Lionsgate apparently will let your content stay up if you make positive videos about their movies, if you make critical content of their videos they'll take your ad revenue and report your video.

I'm no expert in the world of trademarks and copyright but I was under the impression if your going to enforce it you have to enforce it across the board and if you don't it could take away your ability to enforce it.

Here's a guys video on the topic

Trademarks you have to enforce, copyright you can pick and choose I think. This is still sleazy though! Game industry often does the same thing (uses DMCA to take down videos reviewing their games in a bad light).

Great video man, lifting weights, shots and crypto 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sorry to hear that man.

Of course the future is in decentralized video like Dtube.

seems bit.tube may take over dtube

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67232.05
ETH 3746.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64