Top 3 Monthly Contest: December, Christmas Movies

in #yourtop35 years ago (edited)

This month we bring you all another awesome contest, putting everyone in the Christmas mood. Have you decorated yet? Put up that Christmas tree? Started listening to holiday music and watching movies?

Here, the tree is up and the kids have decorated already. We don't have much decorations to put around in the house and that, honestly, does not make me sad.

See, I am not a Christmas person. I never have been. Even as a kid, it was never my thing. Ya sure, the gifts were nice but there was always something that made me feel sad about it and I couldn't understand why. My family had their traditions and gathered at a family members house and always had a great time during the big parties. At midnight, some would go to the midnight mass (church) and after would wake the kids up to open the presents. I would stay up, go to church with my mom and hate it because I never understood anything. Then eventually just stopped going because she finally got the hint that I wasn't interested in it.

I just found everything depressing even though the mood was more upbeat and fun for everyone else.

Now that I have my kids, I pretend to enjoy it for their sake. Although, I'm not so great at making any traditions happen for them, I still try my best.
I did get on board with the whole Elf on the shelf thing. Every morning the kids get to wake up and find the elves to see what they have been up to all night. Sometimes they are making a mess, using toilet paper, or find them playing music on the piano and guitar. Sometimes they eat the kids candy while watching a movie. (IF you got anymore ideas, send them over. Im starting to run out and its only the beginning of december!!)

So by now I think you can successfully guess that I don't do Christmas movies. They stress me out, annoy the crap out of me .... I just don't like them. You know that feeling like there's no air to breathe and you're gasping for air, yet there is and the only thing you can do to fix the problem is to just go outside? Ya that's what I feel when watching a Xmas movie. So I avoid them.

But again, the kids. The kids have the right to enjoy what they like; see, I'm a good mom! I'll just do something else while they watch the movie.

For this contest, seeing as how I am a panel member and my entries do not get put up on the poll, for the sole purpose of adding to the prize pool, encouraging and having fun, I will give you my kids top 3 movies and my top 3 that I despise. Perhaps a couple that i can tolerate. Deep thinking there, haha.

The Kids Top 3

  1. The Polar Express

This is one that I can tolerate in bits. It sometimes has a creepy feel to it, I guess to add some intense scenes in there, like the hanging toys. That was a pretty good part. The train ride is an adventure and from what I did see, there are some good lessons for the kids in there. Right? Good animation as well and Tom Hanks voice over gives his look alike character some fun.

  1. Elf

The kids find this one to be hilarious. There isn't much I can say about this one that is nice to fit the description. The trailer gives a pretty good idea.

  1. Rise Of The Guardians

I kind of like this one. Hey, can you blame me? Its got action, fighting, the Nightmare dude. Not your average Christmas movie. Although it's fair to say that it's not about Christmas itself in a way. So yes i can tolerate this one. It's got lots of emotions, heart and its about the kids. I am a mom after all :)

Ok now that that part is done. I can move on to the ones I despise.

1!!!! HOME EFFIN ALONE!

Ya this one. I could swear throughout everything I have to say about this movie. I hated it as a kid and I still do now. It's the one where I could toss it out the window, drive over it with a tank over and over, burn it with a flamethrower and then let it melt away in hot lava.... the flamethrower was just for pleasure.
It brings my stress level to a 9/10. I just can't do it.

Moving on...

  1. ELF.

As mentioned above. There is nothing i can say good about this one. It's stupid. I can't even.... F#$%ing maple syrup in spaghetti... Stupid.... f@#$... just... breathe.... just breathe....

Moving on!

  1. Jingle Bells

This one tops on the stress levels. Like 1000/10. It reminds me about everything I hate about Christmas, the I have to have this, I have to have that, crap, the madness and the fighting. This one deserves the summoning of the Fire God with a goat sacrifice for destruction.

Ok I think I am getting carried away with my dislike about this holiday and its a real bummer for you guys, those that do like it. Not real professional on my part for being a panel member of this contest... OOPS, Sorry!

So here are 3 that I can deal with.

  1. The Nightmare Before Christmas.

BTW, I've always been on Oogie Boogies side. Just sayin'.

This awesome halloween madness of a movie mashes up with the discovery of Xmas. I think the new addition of gifts that Jack comes up with are pretty neat. People are too worked up about them in the movie :p

  1. Rise Of The Guardians

Hey it's fun and I'm a mom. I'm all for fighting for the children. It's love after all

  1. Die Hard.

Yippee ki yay Mother f#$%er!

It's how I would want my Xmas party to go. I'm the bad guy but for the win. If not, I'll just have fun like Bruce Willis.

top3 divider all logo black.jpg

If you would like to join our contest and get a chance to win some Steem prizes click here, you'll be sent to this months contest post which carries all the information you need to enter.

Hope to see your post soon!

footer banner.jpg

#sbi-skip

Sort:  

LOL! Nice way of breaking it down, @foxyspirit! I should ask my kids about theirs too - although I'm already taking too long putting my entry together. 😂

@tipu curate

Thanks Traci!!!

It took me a looong time trying to get it out lol. It's a struggle you know. 😆 Thanks for your support and for the tip and resteem!! Xxx 💓

!giphy you're+welcome




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

This was a hoot to read. I think I get your take on Christmas movies! I'm thinking we should make a mashup of your final three: "Die Hard Before Christmas, Guardians."

Hahaha! I like it!

Thanks my friend! Thinking nightmare gaudians? Nightmare Christmas...Christmas' die hard nightmare? I dunno, they all sound like a good movie lol

Haha, love it! I know quite a few people who really don't dig the holiday season, so I can understand it. Close your eyes for my post tomorrow then. 😂

There are a few movies in the bunch that do make me cringe. As we were talking about in Discord, A Christmas Story is my "nails on a chalkboard" one for whatever reason. As much as I want to hate them, I do sometimes get sucked into the cheesy Hallmark ones when we go visit the boyfriend's parents since his mom loves them. Edward Scissorhands takes place partially during Christmas, perhaps that's more your speed? 😜

I'll be bracing myself for your post lol.

I forgot about Edward Scissorhands, it does take place during a festive time at the end. Such a romance lol.

I had forgotten about it too until I was looking up some of the most popular Christmas films to jog my memory on some. I was surprised it was on one or two of the lists I looked at!

Awesome post, Foxy.

You crack me up. Fair play to you for ginning and bearing it for your kids. You're a good mother. It's funny but your dislike to Christmas movies is kind of like my dislike of a lot of modern christmas music. The night clubby stuff. For me it always spoiled the end of a night out. But maybe that's just me. Each to their own.

BTW Tim Burton needs to be kept as far away from christmas as possible!! There's my little rant. Lol.

Hang in there mate.

G

LMAO!!! But Burton gives that little twist that we all need! We need a Burton! HAHAHA!

There is one Christmas song that I like. Shhh it's a secrete O.O it's a sad one... gotta find the title...I can't find it lol. Shows how much I know it XD

Glad you got a kick out of my post. I was hoping people would :)

LOL I forgot about ELF it was actually surprisingly funny, I should really rewatch it sometime soon

I'm trying to read between the lines here but are you saying you don't like Christmas? 😄

As I was reading I was thinking, you'd like "Nightmare Before Christmas" and up it popped in your "tolerable" list haha! You'd also probably like the 2009 version of A Christmas Carol. It's animated but is a bit of a darker twist on the original. What you really need though is a Vampire, Zombie Apocalypse Xmas film... perhaps a new genre of movie - Gothic Festive?!

Thanks for going out of your comfort zone this month, now you know how October felt for me 😜

Well there was the movie Krampus but ... I found it boring. Never finished it. I sweat I should have been a writer for movies. People would have something like no other with the imagination I got.

I understand what you are saying about Halloween in the part of what you don't like. But I just can't understand how you don't like Halloween. I can't grasp it. It's...it's just not possible 😝 it's Halloween after all.

When the kids are more grown up, I swear the ornaments will be all skulls, skulls hanging off the mantel, spider webs for that wrap around shit around the trees, red as blood lights and screams of horror for music!!! 😜

Nice, Elf is so funny :)

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 43000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64