Yours.org seems a bit dead...

in #yours6 years ago (edited)

I made a Yours.org account when it was launched and then forgot about it. Today I tried to buy a bit of Bitcoin Cash and I made a blog post. But looking around I didn't see much happening.

I guess that what makes a site works these days is two things - it is free, it is easy to use.

Patreon is not free, but easy to use.
Facebook is free and easy to use.
Steemit is free and easy to use.

A site like Liberapay.org (here is my account) where I weekly receives 2.5 € is, even though it is the cheapest way of supporting an artist, not very used as you have to open an account and put in a larger amount of money. Many people (partly the part of my lazy self who exists before the rational part takes over and kicks the lazy part into partly oblivion) will rather pay a monthly dollar even though it costs more on Patreon (more fees and less money to the artist) than going through the painful process of paying the actual amount it all sums up to in a year anyway.

Yours have this problem too. You have to invest in some bitcoin cash and then you have to give it away to good blogging just like that. But why use bitcoin cash if you can simply pay an artist you follow in fiat money on Liberapay?
I have written an introduction to the Katharsisdrill project and now I await the money :) I hope that people will pay creators on the internet some more and the yours.org website is trying to make that possible - not sure if it will take off though...

I will probably earn more on this post about Yours.org, but let's see what happens.

Sort:  

Hm.. had no clue, yours even existed. Might give it a try, just like akasha... so far, steemit sill seems like the best option to me, but maybe its because I have used it the most. Are you on Sola too?

I just signed up on Sola yesterday, and am not that impressed. Maybe because blogging is more to my temperament.

Well, of course it appears pale to steemit, but so far I got some decent feedback and even transferred some SOL... just don't know yet, what one can do with it :-b

Hahaha, no I haven't found out either. I will keep posting my images there and see what happens. It is a nice interface and easy to post. I would just hope that you could go directly to the people who have interesting things. I have swiped past 1200 lousy memes and stock photos. They are here on Steemit to, but here you can follow who you like.

You can prioritize certain accounts on sola and mute those you don't like. After a while it gets better :-)

Yes, I am getting the hang of it - I will rewrite my other post a bit to take in some of the extra things I have found out.

Hmmm. Never heard of Yours.org till now; I see that incentivized social media is really an idea whose time has come. Yours.Org however seems to be inferior to steemit in the sense that you have to pay a lump sum up front and then upvote people or tip people out of it as opposed to steemit where we're all like kids in the sand pit pushing sand toward each other but we don't have to bring any sand of our own.

PS
Deeply appreciate the upvote and the resteem.

PPS
"Doubt" is a really cool pic; reminiscent of Warhammer 40K or perhaps the original Conan books by Robert E. Howard.

Yes, I think that they will have a hard time making Yours.org grow for exactly that reason. Now I will try it out when I have time to make a post, probably just copy-paste my Steemit posts to see if it generates some interesting results.

PS
I am all for quality content here on Steemit and I have found a lot of good things in the Nigerian community that deserves some attention.

PPS

Thanks :) I did think of Warhammer 40K and maybe also the film Hellraiser. I love the old pulp fiction writers and maybe it could also be connected to Howard.

Thanks for posting about these other alternative options. I'm excited to see other steem/smt based projects that are more focused or communities right here on steemit.

You're welcome. I have made a new post where i go through my experience with some of the other alternatives. Steemit is still the one that works best, at least for me.

Steemit is "easy to use"? What about all of the steps one has to go through to exchange STEEM for local currency?

What do you think of Sola then? It seems easy to use.

When you say local currency do you mean fiat-money like Dollar or Euro? If so I would say that Steemit has an advantage because the money is created from inflation and therefore requires no investment. I haven't tried Sola yet, but I am testing the Akasha platform and what they offer is a chance to invest in them in Ethereum. The drawback with Steem is that you have to go through a big currency like Bitcoin or Ethereum to cash out, but the dream here is that you will be able to actually by things directly with Steem - that is actually the dream with all the crypto-currencies and here Steem has the advantage that it has no fees... But I will definitely try the other networks too when I find the time - I just looked at Sola today and it is next in line...

I don't even know what "patreon" is :-)
anyways, just wanted to say hello, thank You for
your upvote too! :-)
and..
follower.jpg

Patreon is a recurring crowdfunding which means that people can pay you 1-5$ a month to support your work be it artistic, journalism or other such things. It is a good concept and the same Yours are trying to do.

https://www.patreon.com/

I use Liberapay that does the same but is mainly for free art and software, like the things I make.

Thank You, i will look into it !
Right now i have so much on my "plate", i don't think i can
do more , but i appreciate the info !
:-)

good writing.love to read it......thanks for sharing

i think you sharing a interesting post and i impressed to see it... best of luck....

i think you write about a great topic......i like your post.....i hope everybody like your post...thanks for shear it..

very nice awsome. upvote and resteem done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64