Most Insane Advice you've gotten from a Medical Professional

in #young5 years ago

When I was a young teen I had terrible acne. When I asked my pediatrician (who was a crazy old man but a great doctor) if there was a foolproof way to get rid of my pimples, he said "Sure! We'll just chop your testicles off!". After laughing at my mortified expression, he explained to my that my acne was because of testosterone, and I just had to ride it out.

Another time
As a chronic migraine sufferer, I feel your pain (no pun intended). About once a quarter I'd get a migraine that I couldn't deal with and would have to go to the emergency room (I've since discovered a medication cocktail that works for me). And every single time I would end up with some young doc doing his residency that was skeptical as hell about whether or not my migraine was legit. I'd have to answer a barrage of questions (type of pain, location, progression, etc.) before they'd even so much as lower the lights for me.

A lot of those questions stopped being asked when I discovered Toradol worked really well, because no junky is going to come into the ER and ask for some obscure NSAID instead of a pain killer. Once I learned that and would tell the doc, "all I need is a shot of Toradol in my ass and 30 minutes in a dark room," things got WAY easier.

And in case any other migraine sufferers read this and are curious, my migraine cocktail consists of propranolol (80mg) daily as a prophylactic, and Maxalt (10mg, rizatriptan is the generic name) with 800mg ibuprofen (Advil or Motrin, it HAS to be ibuprofen) whenever one actually hits. Does the trick more often than not, or at least reduces it to where it's there, but just doesn't hurt.

Sort:  

Congratulations @enterprevic1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43