Why I Give to People on the Side of the Road Holding Up Hungry Signs...( My Proceeds from this Post All go to @youarehope)

in #youarehope6 years ago (edited)

youhope.png

Awhile back I was always cynical about roadside beggars seeing that under cover cameras showed some of these people collecting money then going around the corner at the end of the day and getting into their BMWs.

But

As I got older I ran into a guy at Church who told me he gives to these roadside peddlers EVERY TIME if he has extra cash in his Wallet. It struck me as weird so I asked him wasn't he afraid they would use it for boos and drugs or drive off in a BMW.

His Response

That even if only one out of every ten you gave to used it to actually buy food and not beer . Well , that is one individual that you possibly just saved their Life.

Conclusion...

Needless to say after that conversation I have given almost every time I have seen a needy person on the side of the road if I have a few bucks ( unfortunately I usually do not carry much cash on me )

I also have learned that making Assumptions about whether a person is bad or good is not fair to those who are really in need of food and other necessities. The fact is a person who is in need of necessities will NOT always look gaunt , unhealthy, and unkempt.Don't judge a book by its cover

So next time rethink about scoffing about those beggars on the side of the road. You just may have the opportunity to save a Life or two !!!

Peace
Robert Andrew

youhope.png

What is @youarehope ?? ..Composed of a devoted team of compassionate Steemians ( led by Founder @Sircork) and moving over to #thealliance who are determined to make a difference in helping disadvantaged human beings including children all across the Globe.

EDIT : I will match whatever payout is with Steem of my own :)
Sort:  

I agree with you my friend but there is also other side of the begging problem. In my country I see women carrying small children, coming to us at red lights and begging in the name of feeding the children. They come in groups sometimes. You will always find children with them. Some of the children can be seen sleeping for the whole day. Actually these women are professional beggars. These kids or babies are stolen or hired for begging. Babies always sleep under the influence of opium or other narcotics. So, this is also a problem. If they are given money, this business can never stop. Governments and authorities are failed in this matter. Mafia runs these beggar rackets.
So far humanity could not solve the problem of begging since its inception. This is very unfortunate.

I can see the logic with your church friend, I try to support the drop in centres that will provide food for the homeless or a safe place to sleep for the night so I know it’s benefiting the most needy.

And there are plenty of charities like @youarehope that can be supported through Steemit helping people all around the world.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

I totally agree with this. The odds are, they really need help, because it's not an easy thing to stand there begging while people yell horrible things at you and treat you like less of a human being. I saw those reports about fakers who make lots but they pretty much only exist in REALLY BIG cities like New York; there is no way you could earn that much here in Denver. A local magazine writer even did an experiment where he went out with a sign in different neighborhoods, dressed different ways, and holding different signs. His best day netted him just over $30, and that was the day he held up a funny sign (poking fun at a local scandalous pastor).
Also, even if the guy takes my dollar and everyone else's dollar and goes and buys beer? I don't care. Being homeless, even if you're in a shelter or a crummy slum motel instead of on the street sleeping rough, is a HORRIBLE position to be in (and those shelters and motels are often MORE dangerous than the street). I don't personally drink alcohol, but nobody judges a middle class person who says, "wow, I had a shitty day, I need a drink," hey? A homeless person has a shitty day a lot of the time. I don't blame them. Plus, addiction is a disease, and it's proven that programs that require people to be sober BEFORE they will help them pretty much are ineffective, and it's way more effective to just give people shelter rather than requiring some moral standard first.
So, if I can, I give. I'd rather take my chances and help a person who needs it even if a few of them are scammers.

I relate to the guy at church. Do that myself. Good you see the good in good deeds.

I came across so many scammers and rude people/kids here in Serbia that I stopped giving money, even though some people probably really need it.

I remember one time, after a party, me and my friends went to this popular pizza place we have here and a kid came to us asking for money. Knowing that he will probably have to give all that money to the "boss", we offered to buy him pizza and he said yes. So we had pizza together.

Thanks for sharing your story, it made me think about my own thoughts and actions! :)

My sister does the same thing, if she sees someone with a hungry sign, she'll buy them a meal on the spot. No question where the money goes.

Among the 12 disciples there will always be a Judas but that does not mean that the 11 are also Judas.

I learnt giving from the experiences of lack i have being through. So i give to people and never worry about what they do with it.

Lets give to people based on who we are and not based who they are or what they will do with the money

For the sake of the few sincere ones, lets continue to give because giving is living

Thank you Robert. I probably don't give as much but I try to. This has also helped motivate me a bit, giving is infectious

This is an excellent view of charity! If you give with your heart, you won't be thinking of the negatives and abusers, you will be thinking only of the people who you are able to help. Unfortunately there will always be people who take advantage of situations, but there are genuinely a lot of people out there that need help and as you say here, if only 1 out of those people actually use the money for food, you have made a difference :)

bb.png
This is amazing that you are doing this and very kind. It seems that perhaps the bear market humbled some or changed the culture or something and that's a great thing to see. This is the good side of blockchain for sure :)
cheers

Wow, a great array of Replies. I can see both sides. Particularly the professional Beggars with stolen babies. That is horrific.

But thanks again guys for your Contributions to my blog and helping @youarehope :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57