You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Replay: Weekly @YouAreHOPE Transparent Town Hall with Founder/Witness @SirCork

in #youarehope6 years ago

WOW! You and your teams on the ground are doing fantastic work! You brought up interesting points about helping groups vs helping an individual with the same amount of steem. It is difficult to turn down a person in need and I'm certain you do want to help, but you have a mission and you stand by it. It's tough for the individuals, but I hope they will come to understand in due time.

Also, about your website, I might be able to help. We can discuss more when you have time. Amazing! I respect you :)

@robchen

Sort:  

People always understand when i tell them our mission and usually end up becoming supporters even if i turn away their less than desperate or scaled up needs sometimes. I would love some disussion on the site, i can tell you specifically what i have in mind, with examples, there is a fantastic not-for-profit theme i used last time and I had even built steem donating in, then i creamed it oops, i might have it local but ive not had time in months to look. thank you so much for listening!

I used to have an external website for @hyperfundit.com, but google analytics showed me that traffic was at best 10% of the views I get on my steemit account.

Thus, I had a ridiculous idea of moving the website to steemit so that it can get the same kind of exposure as my steemit posts.

Since the move last week, I launched one campaign post and the results have been better than I imagined.

  • Huge increase in traffic
  • All future posts will have headers and footers to keep new visitors engaged and informed about specific pages I want highlighted
  • Everytime someone resteems a post, they are essentially resteeming the website

Also, little benfits like saving on server fees and maintainance.

There is a huge flaw though, a major downside is that there are only 7 days to make an edit. After the 7 days, if anything needs to be changed, the whole website needs to be reuploaded. Depending on how your website functions, whether it's informational or dynamic, this may or may not work for you.

If it works in your favor and you want to do it, the only thing I'll need is a layout of your website with images and the text that comes with each page. I can preview with my own account and copy the markdown into a series of word docs, which I would then send to you and you can upload it without ever having to hand the keys to me.

Give it some thought and let me know if you'd like to do this. I can set it up for you within the week, no charge. I just wana help the cause! :D

@robchen

That's pretty interesting and I see what you did there, but that's not exactly what I was looking to do. I had a very elaborate website, that was pretty much world class and held it's own against those of major international charitable organizations, including as mentioned elsewhere, integration with payment of steem or sbd for donations and carrying both feeds from the youarehope blog here as well as accommodating publication of new blogs on both website and steem simultaneously from its control panel as well, using wordpress as a framework.

While the YouAreHOPE Foundation is indeed, exclusive to steem, our intention is to be a world class scale charity and the limitations, as well as the "professional image" of choosing to be only published here, doesn't scale to where we intend to go.

I'm going to have to try and resurrect what I had. I just found a forgotten and out of date database dump from that project in my google drive that will help me accelerate resurrecting it. I think I am going to take that route first, or just rebuild it from scratch, it made the united way and the world hunger fund websites look absolutely amateur in comparison, if I do say so myself, but then, I've been creating various web applications for nearly 20 years of my 35 year tech and software development career.

I super appreciate the offer, and I really need to get into what you are doing with @hyperfundit as well as what @jerrybanfield is doing with @fundition. Both of which are probably things @YouAreHOPE should probably support, given the nature of them and us. We've done well for the last 10 months, serving thousands of desperate people around the world, but avenues to expand on that operationally are always worth investigating.

I've been creating various web applications for nearly 20 years of my 35 year tech and software development career.

Now I'm embarrased I asked lol, but yes your vision does sound elaborate and exciting! I'll keep an eye out for the site launch!

Thanks for stopping by @hyperfundit.com earlier :)

@fundition team is doing amazing work, and also @upfundme too

Keep up the awesome everyone!

@robchen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49