Yoga @ beautiful Forresters beach

in #yoga7 years ago (edited)

Something a bit out of the ordinary for me here. For a couple of reasons..


The walk down to Forries

Firstly, yoga outside of a studio or my house. Normally il head to the studio at Modern Organic for morning classes with the MO fam, or alternatively il roll out my mat on the decking outside the back of the house.

Secondly, recording myself throughout my practice. Ive never been into the photographing life until recently, and a few months ago i would have scoffed at the idea of taking pictures of myself whilst doing yoga. Oh how times change!

Recently, ive also seen a lot of yoga from the steemit community practiced in public outdoor settings, and even a post from @cryptokeepr handstanding in the middle of a lake. So this morning (after my 6am practice at MO) i thought, why not! I decided to grab my mat again and go practice at the south end of Forresters beach.

The walk to the south end is about 10 mins. Its a sick place, so beautiful, even on the shitty days. The sand is so fine you can hear it squeak everytime you take a step! Theres a few surf breaks up and down too, infact just in front of where i practiced yoga is a right hand barrelling slab called Banzai. Ive never surfed it myself but a couple of mates i play football with have, and they rate it! So maybe one day, il get slotted there, before leaving the coast.

Anyway, it turns out i used the wrong gopro setting and it didnt record my yoga practice. It was only about 20 mins anyway - but for the sake of photographs i snapped a couple of shots after of the poses ive been dedicating more of my time to recently...


Crow pose (bakāsana)


Crow pose (bakāsana)


Side crow pose (parsva bakāsana)

There was something very unique about this practice. You could literally taste the salt in the air.

Also its really cool to see your progress from an outside perspective, and im really stoked with the poses themselves. They arent perfect - they are perfectly imperfect!


It would have been rude not to take a dip in the balmy winter waters before heading home - get some saltwater back in the veins!

All in all that extra practice topped off an already awesome morning. Now my arms are dead after this and rock climbing yesterday - il be in savasana for the next few days.

Hope you enjoyed the read legends!

YEWWWWWWW!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @youareyourowngod! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

good post and follome me!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Nice! Would love to practise on the beach as well. Unfortunately the nearest one is like 500 kilometeres away :/ but I have got a nice park nearby :) Anyway outside practise is great! Have a nice day :)

Yes! Im very grateful to have a few on my doorstep! But youre right, outside, amongst nature - cant be beaten!

Wow those are some great pictures. Look at that bright blue sky! Thank you so much for mentioning me in your post. I am honored that you included my name in the story you've posted. I've started following you and look forward to checking out the content you post.

Namaste

Its that old saying - "what goes around, comes around"! Im grateful for the inspiration from your posts and more than happy to share the credit! Stay stretchy man - Namaste :)

Lovely postures, and wow that place looks amazing! Stunning clarity in your pictures

Thank you! Im really impressed with the investment of my gopro so far. Ive taken some beautiful pictures and the quality is really good for the price. I guess the only downside is it still doesnt do justice for what the naked eye see's when youre acctually there.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51