Does a Headstand a Day Keep the Aging Away? [Old Post Reblog]

in #yoga6 years ago

1.png# "Headstands keep you young." #
I've heard this a lot, and I'm still on the fence, but it is commonly believed that practicing Headstands regularly, keeps you younger for longer; so let's take a look at some of the main reasons why.

Blood Flow.
Being upside down allows blood to flow to the face and scalp, which flushes out stagnant toxins, and can therefore clear the complexion.
The blood flow is also said to prevent grey hair and/hair loss by bringing more nutrients to the hair follicles. Making you look younger for longer.

Sleep.
Standing on your head puts pressure on the pineal gland, which is responsible for sleep-wake cycles. The pineal gland calcifies over time, and it is believed that the pressure prevents or at least slows this calcification; thus improving sleeping cycles, and keeping you looking alert and awake.

Mentality.
Well this one is an obvious. You feel young when you're standing on your head. And it teaches you to be resilient, and falling down a lot allows you to get over your ego; making you feel happier and therefore younger.

Do you think Headstands help you stay young? Let me know in the comments.

If this has sparked an interest in you to try a Headstand, take a look at my previous post, where I give the steps to getting into a Headstand.

Have a great day, and happy yoga-ing!

NamasteLogopit_1518427189200.jpg

Sort:  

Yes! I think so as long as you don't hurt yourself or have an accident!!

I really should start doing yoga!!

Cheers.

Thank you, yeah that would be awesome!

You’ll have to coach me!!

I tell myself like, every day, that I need to get out my yoga mat and do a routine. I feel SO much better when I do and particularly when I work up to a point where I can do things like headstands! They do make you feel young and happy.

Agreed! And yet, it's always so hard to convince yourself to even get on the mat! I haven't practiced in ages, but I did a short routine the other day and felt amazing.. It's just so hard to get into when you get out of the habit, but its so beneficial!

Hey! how are you doing?

Need a new post soon!

How have you been?
You must have been very busy with your new seeds and planting them in your garden!

Keep well and cheerful.

How have you been?
You must have been very busy with your new seeds and planting them in your garden!

Keep well and cheerful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66