Sequencing

in #yoga6 years ago

I’m practicing yoga at a new studio now that we’ve moved to Puerto Rico. I will call the new studio - APR. I love my old yoga center back in Tennessee . ♥️🕉♥️ Tennessee will always be my forever “yoga home.” But the changes in practice structure here are giving me lots of self insights and realizations.

17595309-72A2-4A29-B559-3792804FE23E.jpeg

For instance At APR...they don’t wait. It’s more Ashtanga based. They don’t read the room and wait for folks to transition to the next posture. They don’t linger longer if someone is struggling with or slowly enjoying a posture. They just call each pose and begin counting the breath, “1...2....” You better transition from one move to another, and get in to the pose quickly, or else you will miss your chance! This is SO different from how I am accustomed to practicing and I think is good for me. 😳 I tend to be slower than most. I want things to feel right, sometimes to linger for an extra self timed breath or two, and I have a tendency to overthink. But I’m also motivated by FOMO, so hell in this new class... I move faster!

8107A71A-05E6-4170-ABF8-CE1515F1154A.jpeg

Also the poses are a fixed sequence...vs what I or the teacher feels like doing for each day. This is just like sticking to a SCHEDULE, which is something I’ve struggled to commit to with consistency for my whole life and am recently retrying, yet again, to integrate following a more fixed schedule into my new life here in PR. You just do the pose that’s next in the sequence, or do the task that is scheduled on your calendar, and you finish when the time is up and move to the next pose or task.

This change in practice style is serendipitous and awesome mirroring for the shift towards a calm scheduled life that I’m working for off the mat.

Sort:  

The first day I went through your pictures it was difficult to tell you have had kids, it's really awesome how Yoga has kept you so fit and in good shape, it is good for your heart too and can help overcome high blood pressure and hypertension.

Keep exercising, you can only get better and better. I have missed hearing from you a long while, please do well to check my recent posts, I made a handful of them.

Thanks @steemed-open

I have been wanting to try ashtanga for all of the reasons you listed above! I have been doing vinyassa for years now and feel that I'm not progressing with my postures because there is little consistency between practices and between postures. Ashtanga provides a wide variety of postures but also the consistency and discipline aspect of yoga as well.

I say this, though, after trying out Bikram again for the 3rd time and HATING IT. I went to about 8 classes and can't handle going back. The postures that they've selected simply don't feel beneficial to my body and my body never feels GOOD like it typically does after a yoga session. Have you tried Bikram?

I resisted ashtanga for all the reasons above. 😂 scheduling and routine always comfort me, but for some reason my ego resists and thinks it can do better. The classes I’ve found here are Ashtanga based, but it’s actualy a closely related sequence called “Rocket Yoga” founded by Larry Schultz.

I’ve tried Bikrim multiple times and really don’t like it either! I mean I did feel pretty good after the class, just to get out of the heat and that it was over. Maybe some
Sort of post trauma endorphins kick in to make you feel good afterwards... but to me the sequence feels incomplete. To only ever do 26 poses...? 🤔 like you, it’s not my thing.

Nice to meet you here and welcome to Steemit. 🤗

That's a serious pose! How long have you been practicing yoga? My sister used to teach yoga in Massachusetts but I don't think she had any students at that level. Mostly retirees and bored housewives in her classes.

Funny that you moved to a tropical paradise and decided to work on your discipline and scheduling! Most people go to the beach to get away from that! But I understand it. If that's where you're living your life it can't be all swimming, tanning, and pina coladas!

Yoga is good for anyone...bored housewives to dedicated pursuers of enlightenment. ✌🏾

It does sound odd that I’ve moved to paradise and NOW am trying to get organized. 😂 But shifting my ways from the chaotic cycle of neglect and then playing catch-up to calm, organized, scheduled priorities would be part of my version of paradise. It’s a shift. It I’m committed. Thanks for stopping by. :)

FB_IMG_1517573771707.jpg

You should come to this place and practice Yoga

You are welcome in morocco 🇲🇦

I think you will fit in quickly, you have all the physical components because you develop yourself at any time you want
This movement that you have made in it is difficult for a beginner
Your movement is correct 100%

DQmSR4AQYmXhvW4d5E5jL7YYABfQ9HfdkJUN618GbJ1cAFj_1680x8400.jpg

Frankly you are skilled at yoga
Thanks for sharing!
I painted your own picture you can see it in my blog

wow. a great sportsman. I really want to do yoga. I do not have enough time for this: / I have to work hard. but maybe one day I will settle down on the island! : D I want it from the heart. it would be very enjoyable to do yoga with you.
you're a very beautiful woman. kiss !

I hope this change be good for you great job then you're doing great Yoga is a life style we can clear our minds and our souls with it

beautiful body your so healthy looking nice i like you

I thank you for this photo impossible to calm me today with heart palpitations and pressure in the head and practicing this photo return to calm pleasant
thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16