You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Backwards

in #yoga6 years ago

Just read an article about how things between body and mind sort of flow both ways. They uses that example, that you smile, when you are happy, but that it also works the other way... when you smile, your mood changes and you get happy...

I try to achieve that level of effortlessness in my painting. There are times, when something appears incredibly difficult to do, but when I get into a certain frame of mind, the flow, it just happens and I loose track of time and everything else around me. But instead of trying to consciously getting into this state, I just start working and do my thing and the rest then comes on its own... but maybe its all the years of practice come through. Like you said the natural resulting state after facing and cutting through all of our shit 😎

Sort:  

Oh gosh, Sean mentioned the same relationship after reading my post. I admit I failed to acknowledge that the influence some what goes both ways. You mentioned the smile example. Yes, I’ve read studies where someone who holds a pencil and their teeth, even if they’re upset, will start to feel happier just for making that facial expression. Or holding your arms straight up in the air like a champion, it will make you feel more settled positive and confident!

I guess I just wrote this in response to so many people that I hear espousing to do this practice, or that...”it will bring you total happiness, joy, and enlightenment!” I’m calling bullshit on that. You can’t fake the symptoms of a well lived life and get there. If we establish good habits, make decent decisions, work on seeing ourselves with honesty - then yes. Then the well lived life results happen, rather than vice a versa.

xo

I might actually have misunderstood your post, as I had the feeling you were thinking along these lines... was probably too distracted from the photos ;-) Just read it again, and together with your comment, I think I understand better what you mean now.

If I understand you right, its about people having this "formula" for everything. And who tell you, how to achieve this or that (meta)physical level, while at the same time, they are a living example of their preachings actually not working :-b

Haha... well, that smile example. Yes, it might lift your mood temporarily, but I suppose you were thinking on a much bigger scale. And little tricks, as interesting as this discovery might be, only treat a symptom in the end and will certainly not bring you total happiness, joy, and enlightenment!

if we establish good habits, make decent decisions, work on seeing ourselves with honesty - then yes. Then the well lived life results happen, rather than vice a versa.

I'd assume, it all starts, with who you want to be... You have accomplished more than most people on this journey we call life in many aspects. And because you have established good habits, made decent decisions and worked on seeing yourself with honesty, it works well for you. An open and honest view of yourself seem essential to me here, as I think, quite a few people do "fake it". They pull themselves along, lifting their mood with an eager smile, wondering, why this alone doesn't necessarily bring the desired life (changes)...

Yes...that’s it exactly. You helped state it more clearly. Thank you.

Regarding your last paragraph...for me it’s about deciding how I want to be rather than who. The who, in my view, is pretty fixed. We are born with programming, a calling, dharma or whatever you like to call it. The only decision we can control is to live in alignment with that or to fight it. And then, yes, establishing habits around supporting that choice. Also, i won’t take total credit for how fortunate I have been in life. Yes, some good habits but lots of luck involved as well. I am for whatever reason a ridiculously lucky girl. 🙏🏽

Luck is pretty important, I think. We have this funny word in German for someone who is always lucky: Glückspilz (Lucky mushrom 🍄) and I too think I have always been very lucky 😁 And yes, I am very thankful for that.

Interesting what you say about the programming. That resembles a concept also taught by my former Tarot teacher, but in connection with the Horoscope. We often see certain personality traits in the different signs. He explained it this way: the Horoscope can be compared to a list of actors sent to us when we are born and now we are to direct the movie of our life with them. The more the movie we make is in alignment with the group of performers we have, the easier and more consistent it will be in the end. For instance, if we have some really tough action movie guys, it will be hard to create an emotional romance novel. On the other hand, if you get some very emotional softies, it will be difficult to do an action packed thriller... hope this makes sense.

I like the idea of deciding how one wants to be 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85