Stretching into Spring: Camel Pose and Full Camel

in #yoga6 years ago (edited)

Today I’m highlighting camel pose (ustrasana). This pose is a great heart opener. Heart openers are poses where the upper cervical vertebrae are bent and the chest is open. Try to make space between the vertebrae before bending them by thinking of pulling up through the crown of your head (make yourself tall) before dropping backwards. The drop back should originate from the mid back; the head drops back last. I’m post Two pictures of camel pose (you can also use blocks if you can’t reach your heels. The first picture will be of full camel pose (kapotasna). Full camel is an advanced pose only. As you are bending backward in camel allow the lower back to bend as well (again make space between the lumbar vertebrae here and think tall). If you can see your feet, use a reverse grip to catch the feet. Your fingers should catch the heel and the palm of your hand should rest along the arch of the foot.

I am not a professional nor am I certified. Anything you do is at your own risk.

image

image
image

Sort:  

OK, so that actually hurts me to look at.

But I like the way you wrote this article and so I included it in my Yoga Curation Update. Hope it helps!
https://steemit.com/yoga-trail/@yoga-trail/yoga-curation-update-saturday-march-3rd-2018

Wonderful move you looks elastic. I like especially the second picture like you give your soul to the relaxing world

You are really flexible. I can't do what you are doing, I am not flexible 😭😭😭. That is y I can apply for a yoga class.

This move would be very beneficial for my body’s weaknesses, for now I’ll have to aspire to it though. You look incredibly flexible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60696.11
ETH 3379.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52