Yoga Curation Update - Saturday, March 3rd, 2018

in #yoga-trail6 years ago (edited)

The new Yoga Trail,
Encouragement and Education!


Pain that is not Gain

Sometimes a pain is not something to just work through. Usually it's easy to tell the difference. Pain from the last workout, or pain that overcomes a binding tension, is almost a good pain. But pain that persists, pain that came from other activities, those you should watch out for.

I know some people can use Yoga to actually treat the damages that life hands out. But among those you often hear that rest and gentle stretching is good, overdoing it is bad.

I once overworked my knee walking in the hills of the Daniel Boone National Forest with my friend, and it was red and hot and a little swollen the next day. I thought that maybe a little light exercise was what I needed and I got halfway across town before I had to call her to come pick me up. It took almost a year to recover from that.

So let's be careful out there. You will be needing your body later, don't hurt it too much today.

- @baerdric


Stretching into Spring
by @pretzelgirlsandy
A single pose message with a few thoughts that will probably help you in all your poses. I think visualizing things that aren't even happening can add so much to the real posture. Like "reaching for the sky" is better than "put your hands up" because it invokes a whole different set of muscles and probably changes the way your brain works.

@pretzelgirlsandy seems to do pretty well on her posts, probably because she consistently puts up good articles. Steemit seems to like consistency. But as always, remember to upvote and follow anyone whose posts help you.


How I finally achieved a daily Yoga Practice
by @kittyandcheese
Everyone needs a little "peer pressure" as offered in the comments. This idea is right on for most people. Anything that gives you a little accountability, and any amount of guidance, will be a good thing. For me, it's always been daily practice nor no practice. I tried Monday, Wednesday, Friday and never get past Wednesday. And forget once a week, because I do. Good intentions and all, just... if I don't make it a daily habit, I don't do it.


"How I set myself up for an Amazing Day" by @yinyangmichael
I had lost the habit of waking up at the same time every day and doing morning routines. However, I have just re-trained myself to wake up at 8:am. So far I have just been bumping around the house, trying to do anything but get on the internet. Maybe it's time for me to add a little structure to my mornings.

BTW

How I choose posts to curate : I check for obvious plagiarism, good grammar, and friendly, creative and engaging writing. Then it's a matter of value to the community over how much a post has already earned. I lean towards posts that don't have a lot of votes when I can.


What is Yoga Trail
To encourage great content on Steemit and to support the Yoga community, the Yoga Trail exists as a more chat-like way for Yoga Authors on Steemit to communicate. It is NOT a self promotion site, and only by extension a curation site. The main focus is on communication and support. Please click on the link above and say hello.

Sort:  

Great idea, @yoga-trail! Thanks for including my post in your list! I hope it encourages people to practise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37