Novice to Expert - Build the Learning HabitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #yoga7 years ago

body mind spirit.png

Yesterday I wrote about Steve (S.J.) Scott's Novice to Expert: 6 Steps to Learn Anything, Increase Your Knowledge, and Master New Skills (See Novice to Expert).

I was just starting to learn about Step #3: Build the Learning Habit. I have to immerse myself in yoga, I have to learn about it and work at learning about it daily. I'm not going to recap Scott's entire book here, but he says look at your learning style and find ways to learn that fit your style.

My ways are Verbal, Solitary, and Logical. So, using spoken or written materials works for me. Studying alone works for me. And I learn in a linear, logical order. Hmmm.

Well, I had to start today. I opened up a Kindle book I had with illustrations of basic yoga positions. I inquired about a yoga class in the village -- there is one perfect for me (chair yoga) on Tuesday. I will be there on Tuesday. I listened to a yoga podcast and I found my Heavyweight Yoga DVD that I can play on my computer. I also geared up my Cody course on yoga with Dana Falsetti.

Oh and I had signed up for a course on Udemy on yoga. I had started it but only got a quarter of the way through it. And that was at least 2 years ago.

Except for the class, I can do the other practises alone. I need the class because I really don't have a clue if I am doing things right.

I was out for coffee and I talked to my companions about yoga and one of them has been doing yoga for a long time. Body Mind Spirit she said. It's all about body mind and spirit.

Step #4: Take Actionable Notes

This is where I am now. I have the tools and I have to apply some logic to my plan. Read. Watch my video and do a warm up. Read some more. Watch Dana's Cody class.

Sure, today I am stumbling around, getting all the stuff I have half thought about and planning to form a plan.

But I am underway. I'll keep you posted.

Sort:  

You're making fabulous progress! I bet the class will be really helpful -- just enough instruction so you can go home and keep doing yoga alone each day.

Aside from this, I had a very odd day. Due to miscommunication, I ended up at a restaurant alone but I had my notebook and a nice easy-writing pen. I drank endless coffee and outlined a short kindle book. Plus listened to a podcast on yoga.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62178.11
ETH 2509.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66