Why I Love Bikram Yoga

in #yoga7 years ago (edited)

This end July marks my 4th year anniversary in practicing Bikram yoga. I have completed 400 classes!! I've never imagined I would practise yoga, let alone hot yoga in a 40 degrees room.

The journey started one day when I researched on the studio and found that it was the only one that offered classes in the afternoons at 3pm. Most gyms and Pilate studios only had classes in the mornings and evenings. The only free time I had was after school and before picking up the girls. So this was naturally an option for me.

So, what kept me going? I won't say that bikram yoga is easy and relaxing as many would think. In fact, even after 1 year of practising, I still found it tough. There were some sessions where I was breathless, had to sit through 2-3 postures, felt like I was going to puke or faint, felt like bursting into tears out of despair or even felt like shouting at the teacher to just keep quiet! (In bikram yoga, the teacher only gives the instructions.. she/he does not demonstrate the poses at all).

Though challenging, the challenge was probably what also kept me going. I challenged myself constantly to perfect my poses, observing the more experienced fellow yogis or teachers who practise alongside with me. I'm also very thankful to teachers like Adam, Pat, Marcus, Jill, David and Martine who bother to correct me to improve in my poses. Practising bikram yoga allowed me to build self-discipline, resilience and the bull-dog determination as always quoted by teacher Pat, my first ever bikram teacher. The mindset and focus you need while practising will take you to places, or in this case, poses, you will never imagine you could do. The final savasana pose, which is also called dead body pose is always my favorite. Well, not just because it is the easiest, but also it is always a time for me to lay still and reflect... On my day, my life... To talk to God. It gave me ME- space and ME time where I could slow down from the stress from work or being a mummy. Spiritual yeah? :)

As I embark on my next year of practice, I hope to improve on my poses further, build more inner and outer strength and continue to use yoga as an avenue to build self-determination and discipline.

Oh, did I also mention that I am now 3kg below my pre-pregnancy weight? Slimming down is a definite, but gaining that inner strength and bull-dog determination mindset are what really benefitted me most. :)

Some further reading on the benefits of hot yoga: http://yoganonymous.com/eight-benefits-of-hot-yoga/

Sort:  

would love to collaborate on the subject of bikram I have practiced for 10 years and been teaching about the same. its amazing practice for life! Here is my latest efforts on combining bikram with concurrency

adding a link here to my website where i have successfully put a shopping cart up and can offer products for sale to be purchased with steem or steempower!!!

INDIUM ELEMENT #49 TRACE MINERAL on Periodic Table

If you do Bikram your wanting to re-mineralize!!!

Please upvote and shop with your steem!!! thanks

https://steemit.com/steemshop/@enki74/i-did-it-shopping-with-steem-avalible-on-my-site-check-it-out

Indium is a element that displaces cadnium (vegetarians are usually high)
Indiumease is Indium-sulfate was granted F.D.A. “Generally Recognized As Safe” G.R.A.S. status in 1994

Buy with STEEM
Chart above showing minerals increased absorbion by various organs of the endocrine system

buy with steem!

Yes @happyfitmum ! You are an inspiration to others! Thank you for sharing your progress with us :) i have looked more into yoga after reading your posts and have to say wow! The strength we can generate is immense....thank you and have a lovely day.

Congratulations @happyfitmum! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70