Yinyang Photo Challenge

in #yinyang8 years ago (edited)

The idea to take part in #yinyang in the first instance seemed to be quite challenging to me, but it was not because I hadn't enough photos in my files.
Yes I have, it's just to sort it out to represent ether bright or dark side of life doesn't seem possible, I truly believe myself to be able to see both sides in most cases )
However I'll make a go, this edition with photos made in Russia only. All pictures except the old one were taken by me.
As for the dark side, it's not that I really want all that featured to disappear, I just feel there might be something wrong hiding behind )
So, here we go:

That's Right with the World

The Crane Well

Still available in many places it's a clever way to get water from a 5-7 meters deep well. You have to push down the wooden pole with a bucket until it reaches water ( it is quite easy because you can use your weight)
Then you just release it and the counterweight will deliver you the full bucket. With pole well polished with hundreds of hands gliding through you palms in fact the whole experience is just a sensual pleasure.

Cemetery

Also Russians don't usually would spend much time to make the environment pretty looking, there is one exception - cemeteries.

GMO

Also I don't know for sure that this cornfield is GMO , I would happily accept if it is. I admire the ability of people to interfere into the depth of the nature that way.

Winter

This is what a view from my window from November to April is like. Also lately I prefer to have a brake from it, still winter is something to remain there.
Can we really trust someone who never had experience of living through the winter? )

Children Feeding Ducks

Not much else to say about the subject )

That's Wrong with the World

Newspapers

It looks like they are just trying to hide something )

Fishing

Also it's definitely a meditation, and I used to like it myself previously, but :
I'm afraid the husband would use it as an excuse to get drunk, and if he would bring a few little fishes home as proof of work, the wife wouldn't bother with cooking anyway and will just throw it away.

Border Patrols

The photo I've found in my family album, it must have been taken about 70 years ago. I don't know who are the kids, must have been some relatives of me. The game seem to be familiar to me too, we also use to play like that with a little help of our police dogs )
To many weapons for my todays taste.

Ruins

Don't like peoples work to be wasted.
In search for suitable place to build a meditation center me and my friends have seen dozens of places looking like that. For one of these places we were able to give a new life to, but much more are left to run down further.

Memorials

Every little town here would have some little factory proudly presenting its production.
It is surprising how many times we would have to ask ourselves what these things are good for.

So, that's it for part one. Next time I'll present some pics from my travels.
In case someone wants to participate, rules and conditions are there
https://steemit.com/yinyang/@jonno-katz/new-photo-challenge-yinyang

Give it a try

Sort:  

Three weeks ago, I tried such a Crane Well during our vacation in Latvia. Yes, it is effective! The Winter is beautiful, too. I think we would miss it, if we lost it. No, I wouldn't rely on people without experience of hardship. Your 'Newspapers' is succinct (with your comment) - that one could deserve a wide audience! -- I am glad to see the Russian people come nearer to us here - you know, the propaganda we are served... And, no doubt, in blogs/social media we see Cyrillic as never before. You have a bright mind!

Latvia is a place to see real cranes too )
Thank you for your feedback, I feel this #yinyang is a better way to do an introduceyourself post

Brilliant Svamiva! I loved it. It's an interesting process to go through eh? Yeah everything can be good or bad. I found even when I was taking pictures of garbage in India that sometimes it was quite beautiful.

Yes, it is an interesting way to do an inventory of own mind )
Thank you for the inspiration, hope more people would jump in

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03