Ode to my Steemian Invitor

in #ygscontest6 years ago

Today I was inspired (by @poeticsnake) to write an article for a contest to put another steemian in the spotlight. Ironically the person I have chosen is terrified of snakes - she just hasn't met Snekky yet ;)

I've chosen the wonderful steemian that introduced me to Steemit
This is @luckylie (pronounced luckylee):

Deirdre_Fanner_Portrait_Photography.jpg

Ode to my steemit invitor

This pretty lady ain't just made of good looks,
She is smart enough to do your books

She has a heart of gold,
and generosity untold!

When life throws hard blows, she is resistant
She is strong and extremely persistent.

Paramount to all in her life,
No better daughter, sister, mother, wife.

Although she's loving and loyal
to her South African soil,

Dreams of travel lift her mood,
she even travels her own neighborhood.

She's devoted and proud
when there's rugby, she's LOUD

Her steemian name is @luckylie
The best big sister there will ever be!


@luckylie is an incredible and inspiring woman! She wears many hats in life and although she cannot juggle real objects, she manages to juggle her life's roles with majestic grace! Some of her roles I will mention below so you can glimpse just what an amazing role model she is.

She is the co-manager of a small business that my dad started 30 years ago and grew into a very successful nestegg that my sister (@lucklie), my mother and my cousin now run and proudly uphold my dad's wonderful legacy! It is a successful business but is still rather small in terms of employees and although she is one of the bigshots that has to make big decisions, manage the office team and help problem-solve big issues, she is also the accountant of the business and has to keep up with all her accounting work and deadlines.

Luckylie_job.jpg


She also gracefully fills the role of wife. She spent a lot of time in serious relationships that ended in heartache until she finally met this awesome and lucky man who found her on facebook and fell in love with her profile picture (displayed first) and he reached out to her and before we knew it they were happily married. He said he could see in her picture that she was a kind and genuine person and after he met her, he confirmed that. He asked me to do their engagement photoshoot (they didn't have the ring yet) where he surprised her with the "real proposal" and presented her with the ring - it was very special! She deserves a thoughtful romantic such as he - she finally found her prince!

luckylie_wife.jpg


She is very generous and thoughtful! Growing up with her, we felt her empathy as she would go through our hardships with us. She very quickly takes on any of our problems as her own and is there for us through the good times and the bad. She wears the hat of daughter, grand-daughter, and sister with a selfless love that is still strong today and will be forever. (And she somehow still loves me even though she is the punchline to so many of my blonde jokes).

Luckylie_daughter_sister.jpg


The last hats I will mention are auntie and mother. She loves children so much! When I first fell pregnant she was the most excited (alongside my mom) for me and extremely supportive throughout both my pregnancies. She loves her nephews with a deep love and enjoyment that far surpasses any obligation!

Her husband had two children before meeting her and she loves them as if they are her own. She is a step-mother that smashes any ideas that disney puts in our minds of step-mothers!

Luckylie Family.jpg


She also is trying to have her own child as she really wants to experience the miracle of creating life herself. She is however, very sadly having to battle the battle of infertility and this is where I have seen her persistence shine! She has had many health issues throughout her life - battling food allergies, endometriosis, hashimotos disease, and she is on the verge of celiac's disease and now this infertility. But she has been very persistent and fought through operations, blood tests, medications and diets to manage her health to fulfill all her roles. She is currently waiting to find out if a fertility treatment was successful so I now ask you to hold thumbs, fingers and toes for her and send all your positive vibes to her :)

Here's to you @luckylie!
cheers.png
Pixabay


As the photographer in the family I'm honoured to mention that all the photographs above were taken by me.

Lastly, if you too would like to be inspired by the slithering steemian @poeticsnake,
snekked_discord.jpg
join the "You got Snekked" Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/nMEwmTx

Sort:  

Amazing to meet your sister @luckylie in such a wonderful way, followed her some time back, now following you too from #teamsouthafrica none the less.

Always nice to know someone has got your back, sisters really do it for each other.

She writes lovely posts - quite a few “travel at home” kind of posts 😀
Thanks for the follow!!

You are right - no one has your back like your sisters do ☺️

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

#teamsouthafrica

Thanks so much! What an honor!

Lovely tribute to your sister.

She is a wonderful woman and she tends to forget it sometimes!

What a beautiful post about your sister! You are blessed to have each other's backs :) Hey there @luckylie, if you're interested come join us at @steemitmamas! We'd love to have you! Here's our Discord invite https://discord.gg/vw9Mwj :)

Thanks sweetheart! I also hope @luckylie joins @steemitmamas 😉 (hint hint) - they are an awesome community 💃🏻

Following!! Thanks for the invite @alimamasstory I appreciate it!

😘 can't wait to see you and get to know you more @luckylie, you'll love @steemitmamas! Xx

All of the best to your hero sister and we pray that the treatment works! Blessings and upvoted! @wildwanderer

Thanks so much 💙💜💖 I see you have moved to a new paradise!! Gorgeous!

Thank you @papilloncharity, I am looking forward to doing a post of my happy ending to the infertility struggle I have faced.

What a wonderful tribute @wildwanderer.

Wishing @luckylie the best. I do hope the treatment works.

Thanks so much! I’m sure she will appreciate that 🌞

What a lovely tribute, @wildwanderer! Seems like the empathy seeds fell all around your family tree.

Oh that’s real kind of you! 💖

Quite correct @kiligirl, I am blessed with the best!!!

Wow!!! I sat sobbing through this entire post and snort laughed at the Rugby line.... I really am LOUD, because the players on the field need to hear my advice on how to play and my cheers when we score :) It makes perfect sense ;) I am honoured to be blessed with a sister that has always been my biggest fan and who supports me through thick and thin. She always has the best advice and the biggest ears to listen and shoulders to cry on (metaphorically speaking off course, as she is drop dead beautiful). Thank you for this kind post and for helping me remember my worth, when often it is easier to see one's shortcomings! Thanks @wildwanderer, you are simply the BEST!!!

Love you sis! 💖 I know you tend to be over critical of yourself! Remember your worth 😘

She is one of the most stunning individuals that I have ever met and I am honoured and privileged to call her my friend xoxo

She is a real gem! She speaks very highly of you too!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06