An Unintended But Welcomed Consequence Of Doing The W.W.'s Top 5 Photos Of Steemit

in #wwtop5pix7 years ago

I've only made three of these top five lists so far, but something I immediately noticed is exactly how much photo plagiarism there is on Steemit. I mean, I knew it was always there, I just didn't realize to what degree. Spoiler: It's insanely rampant.

I may not have a lot of Steem power, but anytime I find these I will be calling out the poster, flagging their post, and then linking to the page of the original photographer if I can find them. I encourage the community to follow me in flagging these people as well.

Frankly, I am also not a big fan of posts that have pictures by other people even when the poster admits it if the images are not being used to accompany a written post. Any way you slice it, you are still making money off of someone else's work. At least in a written post, assuming that also is original, the writing itself could be claimed to be what earned the rewards it got, not necessarily the images. However, because it seems to be mostly accepted by the community, I won't flag those posts. Since my list requires that the image belong to the person that posted it, though, none of those will ever be found in my Top 5 lists.



Sort:  

I use Unsplash.com which has images free to use for personal and commercial use; win, win! :-)

Cg

100% agree! There is also another recommandation for posters, do not post Hi res picture!!!!!! 1000 pix is widely enough! and fore no way to print it without your agreement... the same policy that is applied ith FB ;-)

Very nice post 👍👍👍👍

I think it ALSO should be flagged. If not, then all the ones that the community has flagged, will just admit that the pictures are not theirs and continue with what they're doing. Unless the payout is disabled.

I personally don't disagree, but where Steemit is involved, this is a bit of a gray area. Technically, people are being rewarded for their curation if they cite their sources. So in this case, I want to keep in line with the community as far as that goes. I certainly won't disagree with anyone else should they decide to flag those posts though. But for some reason, flagging someone when they cite their sources seems to go down some strange philosophical conversation that I just don't have the stamina for.

I flag em and tag steemcleaners in the post too. This is a major bugbear if mine too

You're a master of explanation, thank you for this post @winstonwolfe

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 21 November 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Nice approach, as i am a photographer i appreciate you work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77