WWE Royal Rumble - quick reaction

in #wwe6 years ago

Both Rumble matches were great. The correct person - or one of a few possible correct people won both which, frankly, shocked me. They so rarely get the winner of one of those right, and they got both right.

The men's match had the better pure wrestling, because the women - being the first, and having the smaller roster - had a bunch of returning divas in the match. And that worked to pop the crowd. Emotionally, though, the women's match was kinda perfect.

Sasha was, as predicted, the iron woman. Nearly an hour. About as much as Finn on the men's side. Plus, I think she may have turned heel? Which I thought was needed but difficult to do in the Rumble.

The SD tag match was great. The Raw tag match was not.

AJ, KO, and Sami did the best they could with what they got. Braun did the best HE could with what he got. I would probably be less down on the two title matches if they didn't come one night after NXT Takeover.

And then came Ronda Rousey to ruin everyone's fun. And... I know why they did it. It's gonna get them press everywhere. But I wish it didn't come at the expense of Asuka's moment. Still, I'm gonna call this the lesser evil. She could have have been number 30 and won the match.

ronda.jpg
Image: WWE.com

There was a time when I was a huge fan of Rousey's. I even got @techslut to become a fan as well. But her transmisogyny and some other statements she has made have really turned me off her, not to mention that she was not great at taking a loss. Which, well, is kinda important in pro wrestling. I'm worried she'll become another Lesnar, booked as being so dominant she hurts the credibility of everyone else. Asuka wins all the time, yes, but it's always a struggle. She sells beautifully. Even Shayna, who doesn't sell that much, has had a couple of years in the indies with terrific teachers. Ronda hasn't, and she's probably going to fight for one of the women's titles at Mania. And I kinda hate that.

Sort:  

I don't really see what her personal OPINION has to do with what her job is, because she's an athlete, not a politician. There's no purpose in listening to these people speak on something and then drudging it back up two years later just because they don't agree with your or my views and outlooks. Their job isn't to agree with you, their job is to participate in athletic competition and people on the internet need to get past that in 2018 because it's immature and exhausting.

But I do agree that she hasn't even had one match or angle in developmental yet and if that one match at Mania is not very good, then she's going to get booed because they brought her in on a bad note. The same thing happened with Batista when they brought him back the wrong way. The difference is Batista can cut a promo and I don't even think Rousey can do that well. I've yet to SEE a convincing wrestling promo out of her.

The Difference is Bootista Only Came back because he was promised the Strap and his first match back was the rumble and he won it. So Rousey Not Being in the rumble and Not winning the Rumble and Not going straight to Mania to get the title. Looks like WWE have Learned from their mistakes

I guess it's very early to judge on Rousey but knowing WWE booking style, they will make her the female version of Brock Lesnar. Don't worry about Mike skills, Paul Heyman can be her advocate if not Vickie Guerrero...Haha!!!

How good did Mysterio look last night?!!!!
I was so happy to see him.

I thoroughly enjoyed this years rumble PPV... lets hope they keep up the momentum on the road to wrestlemania

Although I'm really upset that Kid Rock is doing the Mania song....I miss Pitbull

Mysterio DID look great. I mean, there's definitely an "old man muscle" thing going on there, but that's hardly unique to him. Here's what I'm wondering: If they can bring him back, isn't it time to bring John Morrison back? While he's still in his prime?

I'd love to see Morrison back, I don't think it's off the table. I don't think anyone is really off the table contracts aside. Love to see Miz and Morrison interact.

I do not enjoy watching my idols fade badly. I hope Ronda gets her shit together.

I think she will find her way coz she is $$$. Charlotte will put her over in Wrestlemania...
I guess...haha

Rousey has openly said she could do other things that would earn her more money but wouldn't be as fun. Quote unquote

I just watched the rumble last night. I think women's rumble was booked perfectly. Seeing that this was the very first, having the retirees served not only to have nostalgia pops from the crowd, but also as a way to honor those women who tried blazing the trail when WWE / Vince McMahon were not taking women seriously as athletes and performers. This is also the first time my two main picks came to pass with Nakamura and Asuka winning their respective rumbles. I was dissapointed by the two tag team matches, frankly. All in all, it was a very fun show.

friend, who is the winner? follow me @moroang

You can see the full results here.

I really like this! Definitely awesome! Great post! :)

Rumor is Rousey is going to be in a mixed Tag match at Mania that was teased at WrestleMania 30 According to Fox News. I thought she may be the Host of WrestleMania or maybe 4 horsewomen vs 4 horsewomen Match.

However, I have just learned that she has signed a full Wrestling contract and she is explaining Tonight on RAW what her plans are.

Yeah, as the rumble was ending, Cole was going on about "breaking news on social media," and not saying what those news were. I went to the WWE's twitter feed and they had the link to news of her deal. This is where she works now.

Yep signed a multi-year deal I guess by now but she had not put pen to paper at the Rumble. However, she has come in with a couple of storylines already possibly going to be a special attraction like Lesnar so hoping she ain't going to take another title off TV.

I watched the show as well, it was fun. Not as great as the Takeover show, but that's often the case.
Thumbs up to my Japanese favorites (living in Japan :)), cannot wait to see A.J Styles vs Shinsuke Nakamura !
I wish Braun and Brock did more carnage :)
I also liked the add of the NXT guys to the rumble (Andrade Cien Almas / Adam Cole), and the recurring spot with Heath Slater was kinda hilarious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29