Wrestling Thursday

in #wwe7 years ago

The dailies keep rolling in, and this one is certainly no surprise. Wrestling Thursday is where I will cover the highlights of the week's WWE programming, and maybe some action outside of it (especially of this feature grows in popularity to a degree that makes spending time watching indies sustainable for me). On the Thursdays before WWE PPVs, this is also where you'll find my previews. PPV recaps/impressions, if they happen, will be in a separate post.

wretsling.png

RAW

This was a VERY good Raw, with a mediocre main event.

Roman vs. Bray was very solid. They always work well together, and this was no exception.

The slow burn Sasha heel turn is finally happening, I think. Will hopefully be completed in Elimination Chamber or the Raw after. Heel Sasha vs. Asuka at Mania? Who doesn't want to see that?

sashabayley.jpg
Definitely gonna turn on her. All images: WWE.com

Bayley Vs. Asuka was terrific. THIS is the Bayley we should see all the time. This is NXT Bayley, who very capably carried her division, just as Asuka did after her.

If they wanted me to believe there's a chance the tag titles match will end any differently, they shouldn't have put Roman, who's got a full plate, in the match. Once that happened, you knew The Bar were going over. And it was a safe bet it would all be Jordan's fault. He's a great heel and I hope he's back healthy soon.

The triple-threat main event was meh. There were some nice spots, but overall it didn't fully work for me. Elias is probably the right guy to go over here, though he won't in the Chamber.

Smackdown

Much of this show didn't really hold my interest.

I like Liv Morgan, but putting a wrestler who was lower mid card on NXT against Charlotte and expecting anyone to really care is a stretch.

charlotte.jpg

The Usos promo was amazing. These guys have been SO good, and this promo was literally about how they used to be just okay and are now amazing. They are a legend in the making right now.


If you watch one video in this post, this is the one.

The US title match was okay, but there is a clear misalignment here. Roode's character works a million times better when he's a heel, and the entire crowd wants a face turn for Rusev. Give us our double turn, WWE. Rusev COULD be a mega face. Trust.

rusev.jpg

Orton showing up to RKO everyone sure was very Orton. I don't like Randy Orton.

The No. 1 Contender main event was terrific. One of the best Kevin/Sami matches in WWE, and they're always gold together. I would have preferred to have Sami go over. He's due. He's putting in the work. He deserves this. I wasn't thrilled with the Styles interference, for this reason. But hopefully it'll lead to a great match on Fastlane.

Mixed Match Challenge

usos.jpg

This was WAY more entertaining than it had any right to be. The last time Goldust was this match fun during a match was... I don't even know when it was. Not a great showing for Rose, but everyone else worked their asses off.

205 Live

It was recently reported that Vince has stepped down from running 205 Live, and has given the book to HHH. Which probably explains why the show is so much better now. Drake Maverick is a big part of that.


The two matches were terrific, and I was shocked to see Strong go over Itami. Less shocked now that I know HHH has the book. I think an Itami heel turn is coming, and a newly vicious Hideo will be a destructive force in the show. Here for it.

NXT

Well, that was a stormy start. But why, if he wants to end the feud, doesn't Regal make the Tornado match a match for the title?

I love Johnny Wrestling, and I love Candice Wrestling, but wish they didn't make Candice's early days in NXT all about Johnny. She's too good. The only way I'd be happy to accept that is if WWE lets her do the thing she may be the best woman in the world at: Fighting dudes. Do I think they will? I do not.


Wasn't the Strong/Dunne match supposed to happen this week?

The Tornado Tag match was, as one would expect, terrific. Chaotic, wild, lots of fun. I'd like Alexander Wolfe to get more of a spotlight, as he really is exceptional when he gets it

Post show, Ember Moon accepted the challenge Shayna Baszler laid out during the show. This has me a bit worried. I'd like Ember to have a long, strong reign before moving to the main roster. We'll see.

All in all, a good week of WWE programming. Thanks for helping me out with some good content to debut the weekly post, WWE.

steemsig.jpg

Sort:  

I've really enjoyed WWE programming this week......

I don't think it will be Sasha or Bailey vs Asuka at Wrestlemania . Although I can see Sasha Vs Bailey at Mania....

But...... Gargano man - That promo didn't connect with me. Maybe it is cos I just don't like him. I really want Ciampa to beat him. I was so happy when Almas came out to interrupt him. Almas looks like a million bucks.

I think as soon as Gargano gets called up, Candice is going with him.....

"Even your best friend left you" was a great line from Vega

I don't want Almas to lose the title

They did announce Dunne and Strong for this week didn't they?

Also Bianca Belair is a savage wrestler - I love jobber matches anyway, but that was great

Sasha/Bayley is likely, but I hope for Sasha/Asuka for the title.

Do you not like things that are good and pure? Gargano is a rarity in WWE these days, a real babyface in every way.

I hope WWE doesn't lock their careers together. This is one case where Vince's long lasting hatred of love in all its forms may pay off.

I want a Candice/Vega match. I want Candice to annihilate her. Which means Vega is doing a tremendous job.

Almas will lose the title in Brooklyn at the very latest. He and Vega are absolutely ready for the main roster right now.

I hope they're working hard with Belair on promo skills. She's ready to go as far as ring work. She's a terminator.

Smack Down
When I was child I enjoyed watching them

Hey @didic.... you know what W.W.E. stands for, right??? Great thoughts on WWE as always. I dont watch NXT or 205, but I enjoyed Raw and Smackdown. You think it's a foregone conclusion Roman wins the Chamber match?

It's certainly the most likely scenario. And I'm basically resigned to it at this point. At least he'll be a full time champion.

You never know we could get Finn vs Lesnar at Wrestlemania

A guy can dream.....

Good Review Bro🌟 Smack Down Has the best Roster of the two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72