Announcing #wtfwednesday

in #wtfwednesday6 years ago

Let's be honest... you used to overprocess like a madman, right? Admit it... you still have some of that junk, you know you kept some!

I just found a folder on my iMac that has some of the worst most hideous stuff I ever made! It will be my absolute pleasure to torture my readers with some of this junk every Wednesday until I get tired of it! Stand back!

If you decide to use this hashtag, don't tag me, as I probably won't respond. I'm not going to upvote or resteem your garbage! (although I might, you never can tell...)

What I will do is set some of my own nonsense free...

Travel the world my unlovely images! Show everyone your overprocessed pixels and ridiculous ideas! Who knows, perhaps there is one image in that hidden folder that won't cause migraines or kill migrating monarch butterflies... (I'm just kidding... there isn't!)

Welcome to the Zen Garden from hell...

zen crazy.jpg
Seriously, what is this madness? July 3rd, 2013. Click for a fullscreen view, I dare you! :)

Walks in Darkness

Walks in darkness.jpg
That's what I called this. Why Keith, why??? January 13th, 2014

Lens flare - because I could!

EmpressFlare.jpg
There's no excuse, there just isn't... Jan. 17th, 2014

Let's see your worst! Are you too embarrassed? Perhaps you should be! :)

Sort:  

Wow awesome picture in your post sir thanks for sharing !

Hmmm... possibly missing the point!

Beauty and talent are in the eye of the beholder Keith. Perchance you undervalue your 'artistic' abilities????????

Oh dear, do I have to find other examples which are worse? I have 'em right here! :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check this Breaking News!

I junk my worse ... I don't think I have any left of the truly bad but that said I did do this ... 'a whole new world'... I call it digital so it is not confused with photography:)

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 3.02.16 PM.jpg

See now that has a lot going for it... a bit neon perhaps :) When I made those "photos" I was proud of them! I bet they are on my G+ profile which I haven't used in a long time. I really need to get a bunch of ancient junk taken off-line! Instead, I post it again! Only now I do it ironically! :)

this looks like an LSD trip?? Not that I'd know, just what I've heard. :)

I would know... and yeah :)

No I am pretty innocent as well ... No LSD for me too:)

Hilarious!!!! You win for over processing!!! oh my eyes!!! I'll have to look but I tend to under process or even under expose so my photos are black. That would be fun to look at ....

It would be fun to look at, bring it on! Today I prefer to make my 'special effects' with the camera rather than photoshop. There are all kinds of wild things that can be done simply by controlling shutter speed, depth of field, deliberate camera motion etc. Panning is a great example. I am working away on a couple of panning articles.

I don't know what you are talking about Keith. Your Zen Garden has a lot of appeal but that could be due to the fact that I like to play around with photo edits ( as an excuse for coming up with quality photos like yours) Your girl walking in darkness has an alluring, mystical aura.......just what a talented author is looking for as an ideal book cover for their new novel. But.......please don't make me comment on the third image. I'll quit while I am ahead. (lol)

Opinions change I guess... so much of what I did just a couple of years ago makes me cringe today.

@trudeehunter I'm still a big fan of photo editing and digital art. I just think it needs to look... searching for a technical term here... I just think it needs to look nice. You know, like the digital art that you make. I've always been a big fan of your 'art filter' images.

The problem with a lot of the stuff I did four and five years ago is that it literally hurts the eyes. Too much HDR, sharpness, clarity etc can make images so "crunchy" that they're hard to look at. I remember showing one of my photos to a new friend about five years ago. It was something I had been working on and was quite proud of at the time. So my friend takes one look at it and says "Oh, you're one of those..." He was right, I was!

I always thought that was kind of a hurtful remark because it made it personal. I was one of those... not a comment on the image, but a comment about me, understand?

The best and kindest response from him would have been something like : "Dude, are you crazy??? (Gently closes the lid of the laptop.) There's a kitten in the room, are you trying to kill it?" :)

When I think of what I used to post, I cringe too Keith but I wasn't into photography then. I have had difficulty with my laptop where the colour is quite dull and I can't adjust it. I'm inclined to overcompensate too much when editing and it is not until I see the posts on another computers or my Ipad for example that I realise I need to tone it down. Working with a small screen after our PC broke down is quite a strain on my eyes. However, we finally replaced our old PC yesterday and it is sheer luxury reading off the bigger screen and I am doing much less editing because I can see a lot better. Your friend did do you a favour but he could have been a lot more diplomatic I'm sure. I'm trying to figure out the meaning behind your kitten comment but it escapes me for the moment ........probably time I retired for the night and stopped taxing my brain. (lol)

Some HDR is so harsh that if a kitten were to glance at the screen, it would surely be killed instantly. Humans might only suffer from eye-bleeding from viewing the same image... please be kind to the kittens! (I made a lot of that sort of HDR when I first started digital photography.)

Oh.....thanks for the explanation Keith. Eye-bleeding must be avoided at all times and of course we need to protect our kittens. (lol) Restraint and patience are essential for good photographers and I think I lack in that department at times. Pity they don't sell these ingredients at department stores. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71