The Writing Impact Challenge Entry. PARALYSING THOUGHT BLOCK.

in #writingimpact6 years ago (edited)

I was initially excited as I set out to create an entry for @rensoul17's contest.

I enjoy these challenges very much.

...Usually...

But lately my mind feels paralysed.

Create a literary piece of beautiful art

and write something that evokes a certain feeling!!!

I couldn't find the words.

I wrote half an entry half a dozen times.


I also had a plan to create a vision board for the vision quest.

Bliss in stillness. lol

Freak out and tears in paralysis maybe!

What Does My Higher Self See?
Blinding fury maybe?

OK...

Feelings, bliss, higher self, emotions, piece of art!!

I had nothing...

I had no words.


This morning I woke early and had a thought.
Yes just one, not an epiphany but a thought, which was encouraging.

Ren had given me the words.

50 in fact.

So I made 50 rough flash cards and proceeded to construct something.

I decided to include a minimal amount of other words, gave myself permission to use the prompt words more than once if required, and made sure to include all 50.

Final word count 97.

PSX_20180228_081242.jpg

Pause to breathe
Imagine coolness
Serenity is seldom hidden
In smoke sequence dreams.

Listen
Focus
Help yourself reach joy.

Remember the invisible music
The whispered language
That touches the wind.

Nature's rhythm
Hidden pearls.

Language of bluebirds and swans
Language understood
By wind in trees.

Smile again
Feet in dirt.
Train dandelions to carry thirsty dreams.

Cotton on to strong visions
Of joy
And heal.

Shelter your candle
Play with fire
Grow from ache.

Sip coffee in silence
Tip toe in serenity
Towards your own masterpiece.

Remember
Hidden dreams
To again taste joy.

To captivate
Your hidden self.


I dare say it is far from a masterpiece or even art.

But I did find a moment of bliss in stillness, albeit fleeting.

The task definitely evoked certain feelings. Whether it transfers to a reader is questionable, but it was a highly emotive experience constructing it.


Thanks for reading.

IMG_20180215_045251.jpg

Sort:  

felicitaciones

Nice work @girlbeforemirror. I was thinking about joining the contest too but my mind seems really off these days. Maybe I just need to relax, to breathe, look for new inspirations. @rensoul17 hosts excellent contests indeed. Not only does the contests focus on the writing but about self-discovery.

It sure is..
If it evokes feelings in the writer, it's all worth it..
And also points for effort, there seems to be a lot of effort in this

Looks like the words came :) I actually really liked this one, my favorite of the writings I've read for the contest

Oh, thanks Jakey,
It was really hard to dig up anything, I have been in a creative rut.
Art and writing have been an important outlet to me lately, I don't have a great deal more going on so it feels very frustrating to me.
Thanks for the encouragement.

Serenity is seldom hidden
In smoke sequence dreams.

Help yourself reach joy.

Remember the invisible music
The whispered language
That touches the wind.

Tip toe in serenity
Towards your own masterpiece.

Grow from ache

To capitvate
Your hidden self.

all of these are gorgeous. Like really gorgeous. You done good 😍

Is th contest closed? I couldnt find it 🤔

Sorry, I usually include a link in my post, I haven't been myself.
I think it is closed. https://steemit.com/writingimpact/@rensoul17/the-writing-impact-challenge
Check out these ones
There are some good ones in here too.
https://steemit.com/contest/@moneyinfant/steemit-writing-contests-issue-33-february-27-2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29