Writing Challenge #4 - The Street Where I Live

in #writingchallenge044 years ago

image.png

I live in La Ceiba, Honduras a city with a population of close to 300,000, used to be the third largest in Honduras but is now only the fifth or sixth. The street that I live on has gone through a lot of changes over time. When I first got here the street was unpaved until they built a boulevard. Also it was a dead end on both sides, but they opened up one side to connect with another street and now my street has a lot of traffic because it is an easy way to get out of the city center. The other end of the street does have an end and on that side is Walmart which was just built a few years ago.

The area is mostly residential, except for Walmart and a big car replacements store, apart from that there is a car wash and of course what we call pulperias, small general retail stores. We also have a dentist and a building which has a couple of lawyer offices in it, funny those are the only spaces rented out in that building.

I generally don't socialize too much with anybody so I am mainly on a greeting term with most of my neighbors, which suits me just fine. What I do is sometimes just walk the length of the street until I get to another residential area further down the street which gives me the chance to put in a lot of steps.

This area of town is at least 100 years old, this town was nearly founded by what is now Dole, so this company owned much of the land, but back in the day several areas of the town which were out of what was then city limits were made available to people for a very low price and this street were I live was one of these areas. But there are no really old houses here, most houses have been renovated, so I don't believe you will find a house as it was even forty years ago.

image.png

As you can see traffic is down to a minimum, even though Walmart is opened today, but only for people whose ID card last digit is 3 or 4. I don't get to go out shopping until Thursday, in fact I went out and took these pictures risking getting caught by a police patrol, these patrols are common here because in the afternoon and evening the young guys go out and play football on the streets.

I guess I have given you a small idea of the place where I live, stay safe.

Sort:  

Siempre es interesante conocer otras latitudes y más si son latinoamericanas. Gracias por compartir, un abrazo desde Venezuela. @gduran

Thank you for taking part in the Steem Diary Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45