My Favorite Meal is... || Weekly writing challenge #03

in #writingchallenge034 years ago

This is my entry for @steemitblog weekly writing challenge 3, you can find all the information here Weekly Writing Challenge 3


I´m from Spain, so you might be thinking my favorite meals are “paella”, “jamón serrano”, “gambas”, “tortilla de patatas”, churrasco”, “rabo de toro”, “cocido”, “fabada”, “salmorejo”, “pulpo a la gallega”, “mijas”... I love some of this food and I was thinking of doing a post about Orange because I go crazy with that good goddess fruit, but we can´t consider it as a complete meal. So my favorite meal is...

Lentejas_con_chorizo__Flickr__Marieloreto.jpg
Source

Lentils! uf, I can´t get enough... but not any lentils, my mother´s lentils of course.

The recipe is similar to this one: recipe I can´t give you my mother recipe, sorry ;P.

Lentils are a simple meal, easy cooked in 5-20 mins, (very)cheap, they are low in calories, rich in protein, folate and iron, healthy (may reduce several hearth disease risk factors).
I have special memories with this food. 10 years ago, or so, when I was like 15 years old, I was fat, I ate and drank any shit like crazy, specially hamburguers, fried food, sweets, soda and junk food in general, and I didn´t do sports, so I starting feeling ill, I was having trouble breathing, I got bullied almost every day, I had low self-esteem, well... bad things happen... so I decided to do sport and eat healthy on my own. Little by little I started to loose weight, but I keep eating some shit food, I tried to eat healthy food but was terrified by foods like potage, salad, fish because of its smell and appearance.

One day my mother prepared lentils and there was nothing else to eat. So I had to eat those little rabbit poop on some rare liquid, maybe pee or not eating anything, but I was very hungry... I took some lentils, close my eyes and my nose and eat them. I opened my eyes wide and asked, “mom, what´s this?” and since them I love lentils, they contributed to my family´s economy, my health and my soul. Every time I ate them It feels like heaven.

Delicius
Source

Them I was able to taste other vegetables, like green peas with egg, with I love too.

That´s it, very simple but divine food, I don´t care if I could eat anything for free, I would still eat lentils anyways. Thanks for reading, I hope you like lentils as much as me, try the spanish recipe ;D

Sort:  

Estas recibiendo nuestro voto y tu publicación aparecerá en nuestro reporte de curación.

mayvileros logo nuevo.png¡¡¡Felicidades!!!

Una deliciosa comida que sin duda alguna es muy popular y del disfrute de muchos, incluyéndonos. Gracias por tu aporte, te dejamos nuestro apoyo y un abrazo por aqui, querido @arkmy.

¡Somos Club12!.

Publicación curada manualmente por Club12

¡¡¡Vamos por más!!!

Muchas gracias por el apoyo!! Vamos por más... por más lentejas!!!

Thank you for taking part in the Steem Diary Challenge.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76