What is my favorite movie? My submission to Steemit's second writing challengesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writingchallenge024 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone! I have seen a lot of movies over the course of my life, and all of them have left a certain impact on me. But none as much as the 2001 film "A Beautiful Mind" starring Russell Crowe. To follow, I am going to discuss the movie. If you have not seen it, know that you have been warned about spoilers.

Synopsis

I used Wikipedia to refresh my memory about some of the details
This movie follows the life of acclaimed mathematician John Forbes Nash Jr. (played by Russell Crowe). The movie starts with Nash arriving at Princeton University in 1947. The first part of the movie shows Nash' interaction with his roommate and friends, and depicts Nash conceptualizing the Nash equilibrium: the mathematical concept that he founded which brought him much success. After his time at Princeton, Nash is offered an appointment with MIT. During this appointment, he meets his future wife, and is invited to the Pentagon to decipher soviet codes. Over the next few months, he works for a man name Parcher who tells him that the soviets are putting encrypted messages in common newspapers and magazines. Nash believes he is deciphering these messages and leaving them for Parcher in a mailbox.

Around halfway through the movie, there is a huge twist as viewers learn (along with Nash' wife) that Nash suffers from schizophrenia and is imagining Parcher, his college roommate, and his college roommate's daughter. Nash' wife investigates Parcher and show's Nash that no man named Parcher exists, and takes Nash to all of the unopened envelopes in the mailbox. Nash is given medication to counter the effects of his schizophrenia.

The rest of the movie depicts a struggle between creativity and sanity as Nash stops taking his medications because he believes they inhibit his ability to work. After several relapses, and almost killing his baby (because he believed that Charles was watching it in the bath), Nash is finally able to overcome his schizophrenia without using medications that stopped him from being able to work. Nash realizes that he is only imagining these people because his roommate's daughter Marcee has not aged at all in the 3 years he has known her. The movie ends with Nash winning the Nobel prize for his contributions to game theory.

Why do I like "A Beautiful Mind"?

I like this movie a lot because it is based on a real genius, and it depicts the struggle that so many of the most brilliant minds in history have gone through. Many composers were also a little bonkers (As you may know). I like it because I did not see it coming at all, the movie seemed so normal at first, and then it was like someone opened the blinds and let in the light. I have seen this movie at least 3 times, and the first time was a few years ago with my parents on on demand.

In addition to that, I have liked Russell Crowe a lot ever since I saw "Gladiator". He is one of my favorite actors along with John Cusack. Here is the trailer:

Conclussion

Thanks for reading this! These challenges really do help provide content to write about, so thank you to @steemitblog for running this. Please remember that feedback is always appreciated! I look forward to reading about everyone's favorite movies! See you next time!


(Note) In order to encourage meaningful feedback on the platform, I will check comment trails of users who leave superficial comments (ie "Awesome post," or "Upvoted.") and will mute any users who exhibit a pattern of leaving "spammy" comments."

Sort:  

Hi @cmp2020 I too enjoyed the movie 'A Beautiful Mind' and thought that Russell Crowe's performance was exceptional. He, along with the other actors and behind the scene production professionals kept me glued to every frame...

Thanks for reminding me of a long forgotten movie that is well worth watching again (So, I think I 'will' :>)

Hope all is well in your little corner of the world.

It truly is an incredible movie! I have loved it ever since I first saw it! Thank you for your comment!

A Beautiful Mind was a very good film starring Russell Crowe. I remember that when we played it at the cinema club at the end we did a reflection. The guys at the university made a lot of guesses about the psychological problems of the main character (Forbes Nash).
I'm not going to talk about the plot of the film to respect your post and like you I invite everyone to see this wonderful film.

Interesting. Did they guess correctly? I am glad that you also enjoyed the film, and I am very thankful for your comment!

While I don't like the way Hollywood likes to portray genius like its this instant clicking together ideas I did like this movie and Russell Crowes performance

Yeah, I often find the way the composers are portrayed in their respective movies repulsive. Entertainment is entertainment, and the actors definitely do a fantastic job! Thank you very much for taking the time to comment!

Hi, @cmp2020,

This post has been voted on by the @ecosynthesizer curation team.

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


Interested in supporting our project?
Please consider voting for our Witness, @symbionts, or delegating SP to the @ecosynthesizer.
Click here if you want to know more about the project, and feel free to join our Discord server.

Thank you for taking part in the 100 Days of Steem Weekly Writing Challenge.

A Beautiful Mind was a great film - must watch it again sometime soon.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67