You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @honeyscribe's guide to busting writer's block: Never admit defeat

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Back in February, I started writing a script to a short film that I wanted to produce this year. Obviously, I'm not going to have it completed this year, as I have actually run into a serious bout of writers block. That was in April. Since then, I had to shelve the idea because we hit the busy season of our photography business. I haven't had a chance to revisit it yet. What's weird, is that I've actually found myself talking about the writers block and writing about it, but not actually doing anything about it. I have the structure of the story in my head exactly as I want it to go, but in the process of writing it, I ran into a spot that needs more detail, but I can't seem to pull those details out. So in essence, I have the complete structure to a story that has a gap in the middle which I'm having trouble filling. I could technically remove the gap and simply have the story go from where I am to where I want it to go, but the flow and the feel of the story if I do that won't be right.
The good news is that I've been talking about it more and thinking about it more, so hopefully I will be inspired and come up with some great idea that will link the first half and the second half of the story together in a way that will be enjoyable. The winter is coming up, so my slow season is about to start again. I'll probably have a little extra time in the evenings that I can devote to hashing out some ideas.

Sort:  

I hope you do come to a point that you can engage it. Have you ever come at it sideways? One of the block busting tips above is to write the nots. The way it isn't. That's a fiction writing tool and one that could work since you say you know what you do want but you're still circling writer's block in place of being able to write your section. Just a thought. Let me know if this makes sense. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67