You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Want to be a Successful Author? Burn Any Rule Book You Find

in #writing7 years ago

An impetus to actually finish writings, and put them somewhere to be read.

I've loved this about blogging for ages. Before that, it was just self indulgent rambling in journals. Now it's self-indulgent rambling, but in public! But blogging did teach me to edit, finish, and share, and to get a conversation going.

Steemit does ramp things up somewhat with the potential for earnings, and sometimes I have to remind myself that I used to do this stuff for free, for years.

I agree about the interplay between photos and text. Every time I think, "I'll just share this photo real quick..." I find myself going on for 1400 words or so, and then thinking, "too much text, needs more photos."

Is this a vicious cycle, or a virtuous one?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49