Philonous, where are you?

in #writing6 years ago

I have to make myself do certain things that are vitally important to my mental health. One is to stop worrying about things I have no control over. Another is to make myself aware of the passing of time.

The best thing I have found to combat the increasing speed of my timeline is to take a long walk just after sunrise. Consciously paying attention to nature brings sights, sounds,scents, and primal memories into focus and leaves no room for solving the world's problems.


The air is fresh and clear and everything smells good, especially after a heavy dew.




The first rays of sun make the morning get off to a lazy start, unlike the later sunshine that beats down on me with a full lack of mercy. It also has a softer, un-urgent color that is relaxing to the mind and senses.




This is my favorite bench in the park because of the tree behind it. The filtered morning light is wonderful for soft, romantic photos. In the afternoon, it is rare to walk through the park and not find someone posing on the bench and having many photos made. I have never actually sat on the bench, but the occasion will present itself someday. It will be there when needed.




The Butterfly garden is nearby. It's usually not busy in the morning until the dew evaporates and the sunshine warms the flowers. It will be there when needed by them, too.



I'm not certain, but I think this sign allows walking faster then the speed limit. It obviously does not apply to joggers.



Finding a parking place is never difficult. Just park anywhere you feel like it. I still can't park on the grass after many decades of being programmed not to, but the offer is relaxing!





This is a picture of my truck. It helps to keep technology in perspective: where it is not obtrusive and the dominating force in your life. Which reminded me that:

Years ago, I took a philosophy class and read an argument by George Berkeley, in which the dialogues logically proved that things actually got smaller the farther away they were from you until they faded from existence; Three Dialogues Between Hylas and Philonous, was interesting enough for me to remember for a half century. I still cannot refute the argument and still often wonder if things - and people - actually disappear from existence when they are not required to assist in actualizing your current reality. I glanced at the truck from across the lake and Philonous suddenly popped into my mind. He was suddenly necessary to my existence, so he was there. The truck was also not there until I looked at it because it was not necessary until that moment.

The odd thing is that contemporary particle physics appears to allow that same behavior as commonplace at the quantum level.

One of my other "tricks" for escaping the moment is to go off on mind tangents and into realms unknown and unplanned. Which made me wonder how the strong force holds quarks together inside a proton. I don't worry about it much, but it would be nice to understand.

But, then a nearby crow issued a loud "Caw, caw," and I left the quarks and got back to my walk.



Mike was through with his thorough sniffing of the base of the nearby tree and began walking slowly along the path. I followed along slowly, letting him set the pace and explore as he wished. His nose connects him with the outside world and when he stops and looks into the distance, he radiates serenity.

Watching him when he seems to be in a fugue state is the most relaxed I usually get. I think of nothing at all other than the peace and contentment I feel radiating from him.

Peace, Mike.

Peace.



Comments welcome.
Real comments from real people are especially welcome.


Will

Sort:  

Hey, Will!
You have left some amazing comments on some of my posts so I wanted to swing by and say hi. I love your viewpoint on life and that you are taking time out to enjoy nature. It's important to take care of our mental health, I do the same thing every day.

I'm friends with Wes and it would be awesome to have you as part of the Discord group for veterans if you are open to joining us.

Ivy

Thank you, Ivy. I haven't even looked at Discord yet. So little time...so much I want to do! I will put the Vets' group on my priority list. The older I get, the more important my military experience becomes to me.

I understand completely! It's hard to make time for everything that we want to do in a day. I would definitely recommend joining Discord because there are a lot of potential friends and many resources that you would be able to utilize to get the word out about your great material. Totally up to you but we'd love to have you!
Ivy

Thanks, Ivy. I'm on the way.

Very nice post, love the way you took it... the mixture of Photo and text it feels real, and thats the best way to do a post like that.....

Thank you for the compliment. I like being able to find a common thread in photos I can weave into a story. It was astute of you to notice.

Will

Like others vets, I can relate to the idea of walks to just calm and relax. I will take a long walk around our homestead and just listen to the sounds of nature. It has a very good effect on the soul.

I do that, too. Often when I'm working outdoors, I will stop and sit a d lean back agai st a tree and close my eyes so I can concentrate on the bird songs and the scents provided by nature. The good times are when I forget about everything and, just briefly, become part of the natural world.

Beautiful photos of the park, and Mike is a handsome fellow. Do you and Mike go to the park everyday? It looks so peaceful. Thank you for sharing your photos.

Thank you, Swan. Yep, Mike and I have a daily walk if at all possible. I let it be his enrichment time because he mostly spends his days sleeping indoors. The park has a lot of dog scents and he has four special places where he stops to read any "pee mail" left by his friends. The slower the better because I have time to enjoy an unhurried peace.

Nothing better than having presses time with your beloved pet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25