WHAT AN ALMOST BLIND MAN TAUGHT ME ABOUT WRITING AND A POEM

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Late last year, my uncle passed on at the age of 84. He was a well educated, well spoken man, who had lived his life gathering experiences from different parts of Nigeria and of the world. These experiences he did not hesitate to share with me. He would call me in to his study and ask me to draft a letter for him; he was going blind by this time.

We would spend hours on a letter to his gateman, to his gardener, to his son-in-law who acted as a go-between for him and the aforementioned gentlemen. We would polish those letters as if they were letters of application for a job or for a government contract. We would read, re-read, proofread and edit those letters over and over again until my fingers would become weary and freeze on the pen. In between all this, he would tell stories of time past. I enjoyed the stories but the letters wearied me. Who took so much time, composing a letter in such a manner for "an ordinary" gateman or a gardener? I won’t; most of us won’t. I don’t even have the time to write a letter to those I love.
images.jpeg
source

In the period that I spent at his place in Benin City, I came to understand the value of well placed words. Words are like tools but their utility does not fully fulfill the reason for their creation. Words on paper are meant to communicate but most times they are never enough. They leave so many things unsaid; emotions, facial expressions; those little tips that would tell an observant person what the other person is thinking. They say so little and often times lead to miscommunication. So an expert user of this skill would have to know how to manipulate words in such a way that though it does not give everything, it gives hints to the reader of what actually occurred, it paint pictures and show emotion; it becomes art.

Unknown to me, my interaction with this man had affected my writing. I can say that my uncle influenced me as much as Sylvia Plath, James Joyce, Joseph Conrad, Ernest Hemmingway, Margaret Artwood, Isabelle Allende, etc. His attention to detail, to the nuances of a conversation, to atmosphere, to the simplicity of the English language when properly used, helped to restructure my writing in ways that I am yet to fathom.

Have I arrived at the place every writer seeks; the discovery of my voice and style? I do not know. I try to be sincere and I try to make it as simple as I can, then I try to bring pictures to life like a painter. I try to give catharsis like any beautiful music would. Do I achieve this? Sometimes, I think. There are times when I feel like I am close to Eureka, to illumination, to heaven but those times are rare. Those times when a fan drops a line on social media account telling me that I had touched him or her with my words. Is that not what we all seek? To make men pause, think and go back to work changed? Is this not why we write? To change the world, to illuminate, to teach, to leave something of us that is true, that is bare of the different masks we have gathered to protect us from ourselves?

I have not stopped me from experimenting with my thoughts, my senses and language as I am still tossing in the sea of flooding knowledge. I am still sifting through the different parts of writing that come before me. I am still searching for my spot in all of this. But mark me, one day, I will hang my words on a gallery for art enthusiasts to peer, pore and comment upon because one day, I will make art. I must because then I will be home but until then I will stick to writing words in the best ways that I can.

I wrote the poem below in memory of my uncle. I wanted to read it at the grave site but I was far away. Besides who would have let me? I wanted to post it on Facebook but I was not too sure of the family reception. So it sat in my hard drive. I am posting it here today, praying my family does not see it and hoping they do.

images (1).jpeg
source
You used to call me into your office;

Pen and paper in hand, to draft letters,

Then you ended up sharing tales of a time behind now,

And at times, I picked pieces of small pearls from between your lips.

I never did say thank you for the books, borrowed.

They kept a lonely young man company for a time

While his world crumbled or patched up as the fates decreed.

The warm welcome of your home remains

That beautiful gift of family that is rare and that,

In itself is enough to foster bonds too strong to break.


We always come around full circle, all of us, to the departing.

But is leaving not returning to the home we left?

Is fading into dust not flying within the wind to the stars

To become signs in the sky to guide sailors home?

Some tears will fall, while some will congeal within chests

That beat drums of mourning behind crack concrete faces,

Blank with pain.


You have come only to leave; you have left us

Seeds of your loins filled with life and love.

You have left us parts of you in parts of us that

Cannot be scrubbed away by time’s weary trek.

You have given us your time and it has been beautiful.

Like every well written tale; it is hard to come to the end,

But to the end we must come; if only to make our journey better;

If only to take the best, that was you, home.


Adieu.

peace

©@warpedpoetic

FooterBanner1stEd.png

Join the discord server

Sort:  

@warpedpoetic, this article is truly deserving of an upvote! Not only are you telling your story, but you are teaching, as well.

What treasured time you have been blessed with as you have served your Uncle in this way. I spent similar time with my Grandfather, only it was not writing, but gardening, plumbing, electrical, building canning and cooking chores that I helped him with every week. And as you experienced, in being there for the mundane tasks of life the gems were discovered.

The memorial poem you wrote for him is beautiful, and reminds me of those days with my beloved Grandfather. Thanks for sharing this with the world.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 09 FEB 2018.

Cheers!

I am grateful that I have reached you and you have taken something home with you. Thanks for finding this piece worthy of your attention. I am glad.

Wow! What more can i say than " More brilliant as always". Now I see the fountain from which you took sustenance from. Awesome!

And this

praying my family does not see it and hoping they do.

Is just a best way to end an article for me. The words cought me.

Steem on brother, keeping hope alive.

@dorth

Thanks boss. I pray they don't because they will talk but I hope they do because they will have to be on steemit to see it. 😂 Thanks for the encouragement, you keep me on my toes.

Awesome post! Really excellent... My head is full of thoughts and it would take a whole post to write them out but mostly i miss my step dad. And i think of the good talks and the stuff i forgot to ask him. Words have the power to do that, yours in this case, thanks!

Thank you for stopping by. We never know what we have until it's gone. Everyone has something to offer us and when one person leaves, another sphere of knowledge, way of life, philosophy, skill and wisdom leaves.
I hope you gathered something from your step-dad before he passed on?

Without him i would either be dead, in jail, a junky or a thief... Most likely i would be dead by now. So yes, i learned a lot from him and i am grateful i had the opportunity to pay him back for it in a very special way. But since i couldn't pay him and my step mom in full i decided to pay it forward as well.

Hey man. This is just a must read poetry and story in one. I got to say you are very talented poet and I am very happy that you are part of our community. I am looking forward for your new stuff and you hosting the Daily Dose again :) I hope you had some fun too :)

I'm more happy I introduced him to you...lolz...😂😂😂

Oh thank you for the kind words @angelveselinov. I am glad to be part of the poetsunited community; great folks over there. I don't mind hosting the Daily Dose again. It was fun the last time.

Very touching poem man. Thank you for sharing!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by warpedpoetic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31