Happy 1st Monthsary, Steemit! 💘 : Recounting My 1st Month's Lessons and Experiences in Steemit Through a ❤️ LOVE LETTER ✉

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


DSC07008.JPG

⛔️ WARNING: CHEESY LETTER AHEAD

16 January 2018

Dear Steemit,

Happy 1st Monthsary!

We have just known each other for a short time but I think I have spent more time with you than anything in my online life. Maybe it’s our honeymoon stage that makes me excited to be with you all the time. And there are still a lot of things I need to know about you. You are so easy to be with yet so complex and that makes me want you more. I hope you don’t find me too clingy though.

❤ Building Relationships


To be honest, I thought you weren’t the right guy for me. I re-worked and improved my introduction to you but you didn’t notice me while those who posted at the same time as me were doing so great. I was weak and I easily got discouraged. And so I was so happy I met @sykochica , @geekpowered and @kassixo that night and they encouraged me to continue which is why I am still here!

And then I met more people who formed as my informal support group like @davemccoy who gives lessons to his fellow newbies, and through him I met amazing people like the @keeperofthewoods and @lynncoyle1 . I also found a Filipino community inspired by @surpassinggoogle although I have only connected with a few Filipinos so far. I find it difficult to get in their closely knit communities. I wish to get to know them too and that's something I have to work on. But I also found new friends from all over the world like @derletwins from Ghana, @ami92 from Indonesia and @matytan from Cambodia. And so much more!


😩 Newbie Mistakes


I also want to say sorry if my some of my first posts weren’t quality posts and I just posted photos thinking those were enough. I learned now that you value good content and so I am working hard on them now. I thought I should just wait until I get a following before I work hard. But I got reminded again by @sykochica and @geekpowered (I consider them my mentors without their permission! 😉 ) to just keep posting daily or every other day and that’s when I will get real followers. That led me to work on my first travel blog which was inspired by @koskl ‘s Indonesia blogs.


🌠 First Achievements



And then an amazing thing happened just before 2017 ended, my first travel blog about the Komodo Dragons got curied! Well, I actually didn’t know what getting “curied” meant when that happened. When @choogirl told me I got curied, I thought I was just upvoted or got curated by many people. I didn’t know it was such an honor to be seen by the @curie team! At the same time, the same blog got featured in @steemitworldmap ’s Travel Digest. It’s such a wonderful feeling to see a post you’ve worked hard on 2nd on the list. I have never achieved a recognition for my writing like this before. My last stint in writing was in high school and all my classmates were just so good and so smart, my writing can never compare. These initiatives are bringing back my self-confidence.

⬇️ Downtime



But after the highs, we had lows which I think is but natural. I was talking to @unspeakableme one time on how it can be discouraging to keep writing quality posts that nobody reads (she writes really awesome poems, you should check it out). But we should really fight these negative emotions and keep on working hard to achieve organic growth here.

I also must confess that I experimented on bidding bots in a few posts. I don’t know what you think about bidding bots. It felt good to be rewarded for hours of work but then it didn’t feel good for me. I would prefer a real human whale vote even if it will take some time for them to notice me, at least I know a human read my post. But this just me, I respect people who have a different opinion on bidding bots, for now that is how I feel about it. So please please don’t flag me for saying this – I don’t mean anything bad – it is my feeling and not a matter of right or wrong. And I still use the smaller bots like @originalworks and those that support minnows like @banjo and @upvoteph ! Hope that’s fine, it’s just a tiny vote to feel good.


💕 Commitment


I think I have already talked a lot but thank you for accepting the talkative and the real me. A lot of things have happened and I have been so sleepless because of you. For now, I would have to spend lesser time with you because of my full time and part time jobs, but I promise not to stop and to give you time every single day. I think this is a long term commitment I have with you now and I hope you feel the same way for me. ‘Til my next love letter.

I Steem You!

Xoxo,
@wanderlass

PS. Have I told you that you are my first online relationship? Mr. Zuckerberg tried but he just broke my heart. 💔


DSC07007.JPG

I can finally eat my Ube (Purple Yam) Milk cake after the Photo Op!

cake.jpg
Oh the things I do for you, Steemit! 😄

Sort:  

Congratulations, sis! I'm so happy for you :') Reading about your highs and lows on your first month made me feel even closer to you. I love your posts (even my brother does) and the way you take us for a tour is something I find comfort in. Whenever I read about your travels, I feel as if I'm there. And I'm thankful for that because in a way, I get to "go outside and explore" the way I may never get to. So, again, thank you. I hope to read more and more milestone posts :) Thank you for being my friend and for being an awesome person! Congratulations <3 Cheers to many more milestones and years!

Thanks sis! I'm glad you like my blogs kasi ibang level yung blogs mo. Alam mong idol kita dun hihi

And I was actually thinking about you coz you haven't been posting for days. I hope everything's well with you.

omgosh what a good post... don't resteem anything for a week !!! I have resteemed you and will spread the word for you this time. You are awesome and now I understand why you are always ahead of me. You are just better!!!

Happy to take a back seat to you my friend and you deserve everything that is in store for you in the future!... I'm super glad I know you! :)

OMG! @davemccoy i see you pay for bots to boost my post. I really really appreciate it. Thank you so much. But please save your SBD/ Steem and POWER UP! We need people like you to grow here because I know you genuinely want to help people.

And of course I'm not better than you (you're a CFO and I'm an unrecognized employee! haha). I just learn from other people here especially those I've mentioned here including you :)

Regarding #newbieresteemday I would still like to participate but I'm thinking of a better strategy especially for noobs. I see big people here resteem a lot and that's ok and people really look at posts they resteem. But that may not be the case for newbies with not a lot of real followers yet. As some may think it's flooding (not in your case coz we all know what you are doing for the community). So I'm thinking of some good intervals/ pacing to resteem. Or one can dedicate a day for it after x number of days. What do you think? :)

well first of all no worries on my SBD... I want to power up, but I also want to see you do really well and you can lead the way for others. So I'm happy to do that for you, plus it was an anniversary present for you and your new boyfriend hahaha... I liked your humor on this one ;)

And while we are both awesome (hehe), I am happy to have you be the star that shines, so I like your humbleness and always want you to keep it; but you are going to stay ahead of me for sure (I will push)

and as far your idea yes, I completely agree. Everyone thinks that I only want to have everyone resteeming, but in fact that is a job for only a few and the other jobs in the initiative will be varied and productive too. I have already discussed with @mudcat36 a framework and he is putting it together as we speak. I think you're value will be in things other than actually resteeming... I already know the categories and have some thoughts on what you will like, so I want to surprise you and see if I'm right. ;)

You are doing great here and I'm so glad you decided to have that first date with steemit... I think you may have found "the one".... lol

Happy anniversary and keep being you!!!

I'm excited for that framework that you and @mudcat36 are working on. Please let me know how I can help :) And I like surprises haha

Thanks again for your bot gift to me and my new boyfie - "Steemie" lol He's just too demanding of my time but I like it :D

Congratulations on your first month! I feel exactly the same way!!! It's my one monthsary in a couple of days...do we have the same boyfriend???:)
I've been trying to figure out what to write for that and you just summed it up perfectly (except you got my name wrong in your first paragraph :). Hey, no worries...there's plenty to learn still haha. I feel the same about the upvoting bots; when you work so hard at something and don't get 'rewarded' it feels good, but then it feels "icky"!:) I'm totally going to resteem this...it's perfect!! Cheers!

Oops! Edited! Sorry about that @lynncoyle1 I do remember how we first connected coz you found me through @davemccoy and you went back to my intro post to get to know me. Not a lot of people do that so I really appreciate that :) And I'll never forget you because of that :)

And I'm afraid we have the same boyfriend :o hahahah

Thanks so much for your help in resteeming this!

Thank you for fixing that and thank you for remembering how we met!! I spend hours reading comments on different posts and going back to people's blogs; it's a great way to get to know different people, and yes, a lot of people don't do that. It's too bad really! Who knows?? Maybe one day we will meet face to face:) Cheers!

What you're doing is really hard work but I'm sure it's worth it. You get to have real connections and not just "followers".

Seeing face to face is a possibility and with Steemit, it increases that possibility. I have thought of traveling in South America because a lot of countries there are not so strict to Filipinos and some are visa free. Of course, I wanna see Mexico and I'll learn more about Playa del Carmen through you :)

this is a great love story @wanderlass, you really love steemit, so you do not have time for anything else, hopefully steemit love you forever ...
I am very glad to hear you mention my name as your friend, may our friendship not only in steemit only. Good luck ..
yes already I do not want to disturb your honeymoon with steemit, may be happy.

Of course, I consider you as one of the first people I got real connections here and we always talk in our posts. Who knows I might come back to Indonesia and see you for real (Indonesia is soooo big and lots of places to see, I would always come back if I get the chance) :) And don't worry, you're not disturbing our "honeymoon" haha nice to have many people involved :D

I'm also glad to see you growing in Steemit. I see your persistence and you post daily about what you love -cooking! And I'm sure you'll be successful :)

thank you very much @wanderlass, I also hope to get to the philippines and meet you, surely a beautiful place to visit the philippines.
You are a person who likes to share good things, I am lucky to have a friend like you.

You fully deserved the recognition for your travel post.

I know that you have many more awesome blogs in your future.

That's why I followed you from your re-introductory post. :D

Thanks a lot @geekpowered I really appreciate your support. And I'm glad I met you early on because I get to learn from people like you who are growing in Steemit the RIGHT WAY! - You know what I'm talking about ;)

See you around! :)

You keep improving, and making travel posts like that, you're gonna explode. :P

Omg, the post is so taray! Lol
Happy monthsary for you ans steemit!!!😘

Kailangan careerin teh! Hahaha kuha ka ng cake ah :)

Haha push!! Minnowsunite!🤗 salamat sa cake!😘

Wanderlass & Steemit, sitting on a tree, k-i-s-s-i-n-g. :'D ahahahh

But wow, what a good post. I was thinking to do the 1-month close up as well, but not nearly close to this what you just made. This idea of a letter is amazing and it made me laugh at some points. Haha.. referring to Steemit as your crush - genius and still, also funny. :P

I could sense that there were real emotions poured into this letter while you wrote this. It's just so pure and full on honest feelings. To talk about mistakes, downtime and everything. I felt that almost every other word was as like I was writing this myself.^^

Love, from Estonia! xoxo

Haha would love to hear you sing that song maybe in dtube? :p I wonder what Steemit looks like? A handsome Estonian guy perhaps :D

Please post your one month review soon. You're also one of those bloggers here who are so honest and sincere. I'm sure that will come out wonderful as well!

Xoxo from the Philippines! ❤

Your P.S. especially cracked me up. I had a protracted fling with Mr Zukerbeg too. 😁

I've just had my monthsary too but I posted my experiences on a weekly basis so no special post for the month. My next one will be month 2 I think.

Keep on keeping on. Looks like you've been noticed though so you're well on your way.

Looking forward to seeing what this month brings. 😍

Glad I made you laugh. Sometimes I try to be humorous but it ends up being corny hehe. Yeah that FB dude is only good in flings and flings are not for long term :)

You can call yours a "weeksary" lol and this is something some super in love kids do celebrate nowadays :D

I'll be checking your blogs. I learned a new word from you today and that's "protracted". It's nice to speak to native English speakers because I learn new vocabulary from you. That will help me improve in my writing. :)

Happy steemit day to u!! best of luck

congrats on a great relationship. may it be forever. =)

Thanks @ilovepoorpeople I hope so too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75