Feels good man - 1st. Place @majes.tytyty's 1000 follower contest!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Can't believe I won!

I've been active on steemit for about two months now and I've entered all kinds of contest by now, and I must admit, I really enjoy it a lot, winning or loosing! So when I encountered @majes.tytyty's 1000 follower picture description contest I had to put in my two cents.
Writing in general is something I've enjoyed and engaged in as far back as I can remember, and I'm always happy to support succesful steemians, so coming up with a description was a challenge I was looking forward to. Even more so as it turned out the picture was set in Singapore, a place I myself had the pleasure of visiting just a few months ago on an amazing trip with @iwanderela.

Merlion2.jpg
The Merlion, Marina Bay, Science and Art museum and Marina Bay Sands Hotel

I knew I wanted to do my entry a little different from what I thought would be common approach, while still making a lot of references to the location that the picture originated from and keeping it dramatic. I made a lot of drafts until I was happy with the setting of the description, imagining in my mind the hectic life of a young downtown banker living a life of hunting endless money, liquid and powdered stimulants to keep him going. An almost broken soul, barely surviving, living for the rush of the weekends where he can be himself, a fighter at heart and someone who endures his hardship to shape his own future, fighting the Lion City to rise up.

so yeah, I was lucky to catch the attention of @majes.tytyty and I'm very grateful and honored to be selected winner as the competition was fierce with a lot of great contributions. I've included the picture of the contest together with my entry below, be a champ and leave your feedback and comments below, thanks!

contest picture

A night in the jaws of the merlion

My wristwatch clocks in at 7.12 am precisely and I sigh with relief as the first rays of the protecting sun drapes my battered body in a soft fluffy orange robe of light. A thrill runs through me, another day blossoms and I'm once again lucky to be - be here, be alive, be whole. The Lion City roared with thunder, luring me with untold promises, from garden and bay to Indian alleys. The Merlion was on the prowl but I survived the fight, what a city, what a night. The golden orb of life continues it's journey over the sky, battling the gathering clouds for the daily dominance, as I look to my home with a passionate longing - it's time to rest before the next test.

_____________________________

Hope you all had a great weekend steemians, I know I did thanks to @majes.tytyty, @iwanderela and all the rest of you!

The Wandering Danish

Sort:  

You've found the secret to good writing! As you stated in the 3rd paragraph above, ... " I made a lot of drafts until I was happy."

Any and all good writers know that good writing involves lots of work and lots of editing. I myself revise and rewrite my work over and over again. I make plenty of drafts, and then edit them ... many times.

I rewrite and reread the draft. If it doesn't sound great, I change it. If it sounds great, I read it again, to see if maybe it doesn't sound very great when I read it for the second time.

Eventually, the text becomes quite "polished," and then I might post it. (However, if I reread it after posting it, I often find points that could have FURTHER improvement. It never ends!)

I hope you and all other Steemit writers can also work on your writings "until you are happy" with it. Then, most readers will also be happy.

Be happy.

I wish I could write like both of you. I regret I didn't paid attention to my English teacher back when I was still a student. Now I'm suffering to have a very limited vocabulary.

It's with texts like any other kind of creative expressions.. never look at it after it's done, at least not with critical eyes, or you'll never be done.
Thanks for your thoughts on the matter @majes.tytyty, I'm often surprised how many people think that good writing is just something you do with no effort, that it just somehow.. happens.

@iwanderela your vocabulary is just fine and I'm always here to help you out with whatever you write, and you know that.. so no excuses ;)

Congratulations for winning the contest. Great writing and i love the picture of that famous hotel. I wish one day to stay there :)

Thanks! We went to the viewpoint on the top of the hotel but with our limited budget there was no way we could afford to stay there either.. when I get steem rich I'll go back xD

Very intriguing and you def deserved the win:)

Hehe not sure if I deserved to win, but if you say so I trust you :p Thanks!

I hereby proclaim to the entire Steemit community that @wanderingdanish truly deserved to win this contest, fairly and honestly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59559.24
ETH 2523.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42