You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Violet Med

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Oh my goodness, thank you for writing me this poem! It was totally unexpected! I had a good cry about it! I had a terrible day subbing kids on this past Friday - 6th graders(12 year olds). They were so disrespectful, I couldn’t have fun sharing my years of knowledge, I just wanted to go home! Then I read that 2 substitute teachers were killed in that Texas school on that same Friday. Last night when I posted those photos to Steemit, I was thinking why am I even bothering to do this. Who really needs my silly flower posts? Thank you Christopher for giving me hope for a new week! Yesterday I went to church to celebrate Pentecost. We had an amazing sermon reminding us we all have The Holy Spirit with us and we each have a calling on Earth to fulfill. Thank you again for everything in the poem -you captured a lot of my feelings and hopes! Steemit has some amazing people! Love you my friend! ❤️

Sort:  

Dear @violetmed. Sorry to be so long in returning this comment. Although we are half a world apart we share the same experience each day. How many times a day I thought about how useless it is to teach kids that don't listen and don't care and what's worse are in a prison forced to remain in a class pushed by a bell a herded like sheep.

Then I remember I chose to be here. Texas is a great place. There is enough news about political leaders and activists but there is only one you. There is a story that each of has every day. We can choose to write that story or throw it away. Even if we do not write it the story remains in our collection. Sometimes it comes out with spider webs and mildew years later, but the story is still there. It never goes away. That is why I really got into Steemit. Not only do I find a crypto reward in exchange for any work I create but I find a place to share my stories. People who will listen and things change. The only problem I have now is I have three or four stories in a day and not enough time or energy to write them and make them into a post.

I am so honored to have a friend like you. I am mutually encouraged by the sermon you heard on Sunday. Days before the Pentecost the disciples prayed. When the Holy Spirit came on them they were changed and were given power to complete the task that Jesus called them to do. I felt conflicted that spending time on Steemit distracted me from completing this task, but now I see that they can be one and the same together. Hearts are touched and lives are changed. I am glad I can be used and I am greatly humbled at your words. Bless you my friend.

Love,

@mineopoly

God bless you dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56