You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From An Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration

in #writing7 years ago

Writers block can suck but I've realised it is a lot deeper than what it is on face value. What helps me is a lot of introspective time, instrumental music (post-rock is great for writing) and a change if environment.

Hope those can help you too :)

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment. I agree that it is a somewhat complex issue. For me it wasn't so much feeling blocked creatively but that I almost felt stuck in a sense of apathy. These tips you suggest are all useful, I agree. For me I just had to get to a point where I energetically had the strength to move past apathy, even just by a small amount. Put pen to paper (or finger to keyboard) and write something. Anything at all, and start a flow going. It is happening :)

That's all it takes sometimes. Pen to paper and let the words flow!

Like writing a story. A first draft is just words flowing onto paper. Editing comes later. Unless self-criticism gets in the way. The joys of being a writer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35