I stayed up until 1AM learning to write in Elvish!!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

You know you’re a nerd when you try to learn how to write in Elvish!😆



Yesterday I was looking through images to continue with my landscape studies. Then I had the idea of using images from the Lord of the Rings film as reference. I could’ve been looking for a distraction but I suddenly felt the urge to learning how to write in Elvish.

I know, I know... Is it a skill I need? -No. Am I wasting my time? -Maybe. Either way, I’m having a lot of fun in the process and maybe I’ll become better at calligraphy.

I guess you could say that I fell victim to clickbait after reading the words,“Write your name in Elvish.” Yes, you can click that link to see detailed examples of how to write your name. The directions seemed simple enough so I opened up the Procreate App, utilized the new grid drawing guides and selected a calligraphy brush.

Writing out the alphabet wasn’t too difficult with practice but I needed to study the start points and curves for accuracy.

The only problem’s that I’m facing right now are finding the write pen to write with. The calligraphy brushes on Procreate aren’t the best. The round brushes are too round and the square ones feel off so I’m unable to get the thickness that I want where I want it...if that makes sense.

If anyone has an App that they’d recommend for lettering which is compatible with the iPad Pro, then feel free to leave your suggestions below!

It also seems like I may have to purchase a book to understand how the letters connect when written. I’ve searched a few examples but they differ depending on the sentence. I did attempted to read a few sentences that I found online but the words are still somewhat difficult to decipher since I only know the basics. It’s frustrating because I want to be able to read it now since it’s my new obsession but I don’t have the right resources. It’s a little funny because I know that once I master this then I’ll tuck this useless skill away and go back to my normal routine.


If you’re a fellow LOTR nerd then please, show me your ways!


Thanks for stopping by to read about my nerdy habits!🦊

Sort:  

Woow. Intense.

It is!! I had to take a break because I was getting frustrated.

It is!! I had to
Take a break because I was
Getting frustrated.

                 - vermillionfox


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Cool enough. The elvish letterbis kind of like the Thai letter in my eye.

Oh! I could totally see that because of the curves! I bet if I could master how the script looks in the films then it would look even more like Thai!

Hahaha! Well, it does look lovely. So, does this also require learning the J.R.R. Tolkien created Elvish language? Interesting that the letters correlate directly with the English alphabet.

Now, if you were learning Klingon... lol

When I was bored as an art student (a decade or more ago), I used to try and learn scripts from the Ancient Scripts website.

I would have liked to learn ancient Iberian, but I'd want the language to go with it and only a few sparse words are spoken today after being absorbed into vulgar Latin and eventually Spanish and Portuguese.

Anyway, good luck with the Elvish writing.

So, does this also require learning the J.R.R. Tolkien created Elvish language?

MAYBE! If....I were any good at picking up language! ..Which I’m not but I could definitely try! I also noticed the similar lettering to the English alphabet and it makes it a little easier to spot these letters when reading sentences.

Klingon intimidates me!

Learning ancient scripts sound badass! I’d totally dive into that!

That's good and all, but have you ever wasted time learning how to write like a true Helghast for Helghan? (Dropping the Killzone series references like its still hot, but Elvish and Helghan are interesting.)

Haha! I have not wasted my time learning true Helghast. I feel like I’d need a super fat sharpie if I were to get started!

The end result is so pretty and elegant!! :D All of that practice was definitely worth it. Now I'll go try practicing too xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23