[Fiction] Dimensional Shift

in #writing7 years ago

As a kid I loved shows like the Twilight Zone and Quantum Leap. Recently I have been experiencing some weird occurrences that have sparked my imagination and as a result I have been thinking a lot about possible Alternate Dimensions. Since I haven't posted anything in almost a week I decided to post this and ask Steemit it's opinion on my idea!

My Idea

Well it is simple, I am thinking of doing a weekly series (one chapter per week) which, hopefully, will get compiled into a book at some point. The Series will be called Dimensional Shift and will be a collection of short stories (one chapter each) that deal with a possible alternate dimension. What it might be like, how it might have occurred, when in time it is located, etc.

My first potential chapter (short story) would be set in Dimension A which for some reason split from our reality just before the start of the United States Civil War in the 1800's. In Dimension A the south developed Airplanes (wood framed bombers) and kicked the Yankee's Ass during the civil war, preserving states rights and leading to a vastly different United States. One in which freedom became paramount and led to the United States, Canada and Mexico merging shortly after the Civil War into the United American States. By the mid 1900's the United American States had expanded to all of "The Americas" and crossed the pond to include England and most of Western Europe; it was renamed "Western Alliance of Treated States" (WATS) by 1960. In this Dimension A Germany never rose to power, there was never a World War 1 or 2 and by modern times the entire planet (except for a few hold out Arab Nations) was united under one world government known as "Federation Earth".

If you like this idea and would:

* Like to see it become a weekly series,
* Would like to write short stories to be included in the series, or
* Just enjoy reading fiction

Then make sure to vote/resteem/comment and show your support.

Additional Info:

All submissions to the series will be paid. I haven't worked out exactly how or how much yet but your work will be rewarded. If you have any ideas on how this could/should be done please feel free to leave a comment below or find me on Steemit.Chat. Thanks!

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

Need more Followers? Check out SteemFollower!

If you are a traveler, homeless, vagabonding, couchsurfing or just have the spirit of a Nomad then join us over at #teemnomad on PAL Discord here: https://discord.gg/SgJfQkH

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Receive 75 ATS Tokens free just for signing up!

Sort:  

Great idea good luck:)

Thanks, I am hoping to get some submissions so I don't have to write them all. I would love to be able to publish a book full of short stories all along the same lines and share the proceeds with everyone who contributes stories.

I love the idea...I like how your imagination works...I'm making series too...but they are a bit different ;)

Outstanding post and narrative. Great idea. love it.
Thanks for sharing such great post with us!

Super cool ... if you have time it will be great if you can make it like a weekly series, or even twice a month ( and in this case you can elaborate even a bit longer stories).
I really liked a lot as well Twilight Zone... really fascinated me when i was young!
I had to edit the comment and let you know that this is my 666 post! :))) Strange right!

I loved watching Quantum Leap with Sam and according to Ziggy lol @venuspcs thought I was like the only one.

I would like to see a tag for the paranormal. Not so sure I like the first short story, just not my cup of tea. But your idea sounds great.

This post has received a 2.86 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @venuspcs.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VenusPCS (The Colbert Report) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Absolutely, I think you should do the series. You are a very good writer. I'll read your work. I like that you are offering others to be part of your story's

cool idea ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65