A picture is worth a thousand words SERIES POST 1

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Source

Hello family :) ,
I am starting a new post series called A PICTURE CAN TELL A THOUSAND WORDS.
Every so often i will choose a random picture that speaks to me and write a little story for it. Note that all post probably wont contain a thousand words so keep that in mind. :)

If you guys like any post and want me to expand on the short story please by all means the comment section is open :)

Independence day

We were walking for what felt like days thought a vast network of dark and moody tunnels. Our Independence quickly went sour as Simeon the hold sent dogs and tracked us through the tunnels. Most in the group were tired and ready to give in. Brian was the main proponent to the idea that out lives back at the Hold were not as bad as we thought they were. He was such a coward that he wouldn't return back on his own because we all had chosen to ventured forward. He lugged behinds us close enough to hear his sobbing and complaining.

He was lucky he was Bellows brother or i would have killed him myself.

Where we where headed no one knew but the lost of my wife Danny was still on mind.

The tunnels were as much our enemy as Simeon and the HOLD.

My wife and three others in the group were lost the day the dogs got us. A wrong turn and a split second later she was gone. She was carrying our unborn child when we got separated, everything in me wants nothing more then to reunite my family. The only reason i did not return for her was because of D'andre, who was going to take care of him? I can still feel my wife though and i know she is still alive. It cant end this way, all the planning and conversations of a better life for our children couldn't have been pipe dreams. I could only go forward for my son and hope for the best.

After more and more walking we reach a fork in front of us with three paths.

Of course Brian chimes in about returning back "home", and turning ourselves in. That piece of shit. After a little debate we choose the middle path since going straight seemed like a logical move, so we ventured in. The path quickly goes from straight to curvy and sharp turns so we snake around for about twenty minutes when we finally see it, a source of light deep into the distance. All the fatigue quickly leaves the group and we make our way to the light source.

Getting to the light source we find a shaft and can even feel a sharp breeze flowing down through it. There is also a shaft ladder that goes up about twenty feet.

We all climb with D'andre hugging me harder and harder the higher we get. We reach the summit and then we see what we were looking for, a way out. Everything changes and even the smells become more complex erasing the old tunnel smell we had all gotten used to. I have to cover my eyes as the light is too bright to stare at directly. Even Brian could be heard rejoicing, that weasel.

We don't waste anytime and make our way towards the light and fresh air. As we get closer my eyes slowly adjust and i can see what looks like a platform in the distance.

A blurry silhouette suddenly appears in front of us and my eyes finally focus to see Danny with a gun to her head in the hands of that murderer Simeon. He quickly starts to yell for us to get on the ground or Danny will die.

Brian that snake, quickly starts to yell to Simeon that he was dragged against his will and that he wants to return "home' . The whole group looks at him in disgust and Bellows seeing the treachery in his brothers eyes, shoves his brother really hard towards the direction of Simeon.

Brian trips, almost looses his balance but regains composure and heads towards the mouth of the opening. I stare at my wife's eyes as if she was right in front of me. She gives me a look i have never seen before and i feel a sharp pain in what i truly feel is my soul.

As Brian makes it to the exist of the tunnel i see Simeon look over to some one not visible from where we were standing. A split second later Brian is pumped full of bullets by what im guessing is Hold guardsmen. He falls over the ledge of the tunnel and we hear his body hit the floor a few seconds later. I stare at my wife again and she gives me the same look she did before.

It was over and we were finished, I hesitate at first but i call out to Simeon.

"Simeon! Its me, Daniel from the Barracks, Please! My wife is pregnant and was just following her husband orders. She is only valuable alive, Please! If you have to take anymore lives, take mines. No one else has to die".

He stares at me for about a minute with this demented look in his eyes.
"Ok" he yells back.

I sigh in relief but something still feels off as my wife yells in horror for me to stop. I walk anyways toover to him when i see it, the same grin he had on his ugly face when he shot one of the mothers in the nursery because she would not have sex with him.

I stare at my wife in despair as time itself seems to slow down right in front of me.

Simeon grins a little more,
raises the gun to my wife's head and pulls the trigger.

My legs and everything else inside me gives out the light slowly becomes engulfed in darkness again.

If you enjoyed the story please don't hesitate to follow for more great content!

Thank you for reading and i hope you are enjoying our family as much as me :))

Sort:  

Very cool. Thanks for sharing. I like the concept you are going at as well.

thank you so much I'm sorry about the delay in response it has been a hectic week! Stay tuned for more :P

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vagaboncritter from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64