You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why The "Steemygames" Money Grab by @steemsports / @steemgames Should F*ck Off (Revised)

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I did have a rant here about how it would be copyright infringement, however it's clear that the facts as presented were not correct. thus I retract my previous statements.

Sort:  

Well, that's not direct release, but close, maybe on future posts you may want to ask specifically for permission to use the images and then include image attribution and copyright information with the post, just to clear up any possible confusion.

Thank you @walden - I'll add this to the post and revise it slightly.

As triddin mentioned above that wouldn't hold up as consent in court but it's a step in the right direction knowing you'd asked first I guess.

As you can see in the screenshot, it wasnt me asking nor selecting the pics.

Aye.. You're cleared by the looks of it walden..!

I like the food idea or cars or something for the games.. Will support those if you ever make em up.. But as for pitting users against eachother I can't get behind that. :/

But if you flag Steemsports for plagarism or copyright infringement berniesanders will nuke ur blog lol isnt Anyx supposed to deal with crap like this... cheeta busy flagging posts that would never get traction anyway lol

Nah, Berniesanders is actually pretty damn reasonable from my dealings with him. I know not everyone feels the same but I've 0 beef with the guy and likely could ask him to stop voting on these personally and see results...

I may do that actually.

lol, goodluck with that

It's done now. You won't see @berniesanders voting on steemsports posts anymore.

Behold the power of communication and community!

Lmao, did you see him flag my comment.

I think he flagged you for not believing he was capable of being decent.. He is.. I know this because I've talked to him and he's always been civil with me.

But fuck I wouldn't put up with people slandering me either to be honest. Calling people corrupt certainly isn't a way to make a mends.

He's got the right and power to flag stuff and he does.. Not sure why folks get upset over people using the site's mechanics to defend themselves or what they want the platform to be.

Ya'll act like whales are above your average person.. lol.

IF you take the power users off their SP pedestals they are humans just like you or I.
Completely capable of being reasoned with and finding understanding.

I agree I just also know the kind of person berniesanders is. Not generalizing all whales. Plus when you think you have all the power it tends to corrupt.

I checked out BS too just because he is the most controversial stake holder here, and klye is right, bern dont support pedophilia, pizzagate, ogoling miners (underage girls being compared sexually to legal sexable creatures). Frankly this is sick. I support free speech, and downvote pedofilia, and steemsports promoting underage sex should be listing in the nsfw because people can get fired for this kind of shit. Steemit is jumping the shark it appears. Why? Because we only have a tiny community and we are addicted to gambling, sex(nsfw), and now pedofilia thanks to our most successful business, steemsports

Yuck

Steem makes it free to communicate and ask other steemians if their likeness can be used. What is their excuse for not asking. I assumed that mrs steemit and ssj both submitted their own photos and were involved in the process and having fun. . I didnt know it was some sick sex fetish. Steem makes it so free and easy to communicate with peers that i assume communication is always being done

Inclined to agree with you that this whole situation is kind of shit.

@berniesanders may not be the most popular power user on the platform but he's never done anything wrong to me and he seems stand up enough in regards to what he feels is right to protect the platform from garbage.

If they did indeed get permission and the users supplied photos and agree'd to be in the competition.. It's still kind of stupid in my opinion. But would be far less crappy than how it looks now.

berniesanders will nuke ur blog lol isnt Anyx supposed to deal with crap like this... cheeta busy flagging posts that would never get traction anyway lol

Like when? Ive flagged accounts that bernie supported before. He flagged me back when i explained my vote in comments (which i thought was shitty and i told him so in chat). and it ended there... hes even upvoted a few of my comments since.

I've never had a problem with the guy really. And if I ever did I'm sure I could talk to him and come to an understanding rather than flag-fucking eachother. lol

every single person in the games gave permission and approval to use their pictures,
most even selected their pictures.

As mentioned below if you could bring fourth some provable evidence to back this claim up would be awesome man. Honestly I'd love to see that all permissions were given and that the users picked their own pictures but it doesn't make much sense given the circumstance and what's already on the table.

You're 100% correct.

They are making money using others property and likeness without permission.. :/

Doesn't that means they could be sued in most jurisdictions for both copyright and portrait right infringements by the ones who don't want to see their photos used like this?

Mildly flagged because the comment is pointless now that it is clear there was no copyright infringement; the images were used with permission. People really need to pause and not be so quick to join lynch mobs on the basis of incorrect and poorly researched "facts"

You are of course correct. I have edited my prior post to indicate that the falsity of my original argument which was based off an incorrect assumption.

I also appreciate that the kid gloves slap you gave me could have been much, much worse. Thanks for not obliterating me.

It was a good rant triddin! But I did drop the ball and not have all the evidence I needed to make a proper case.. Sorry about that man. :/

It's all good man (or woman perhaps?), you're not completely to blame. Any image use, or use of another user's copyrighted material is supposed to be correctly licensed and attributed. It's like rule #1 in the Steem rule book. In this case it wasn't attributed and the comments seemed to make the case that it wasn't above board. It's just an unfortunate situation. I still agree with you that it's in poor taste, but that's nothing against the rules, so just need to suck it up.

Eh, Appreciate it. :)

I jumped the gun and thought I saw something that wasn't there. In the future I'll either be 150% sure or just keep my foul mouth shut I guess.

Tis in poor taste, but so was my post in regards to how I didn't fully investigate before pulling the trigger.

Cheers Sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53