What is it about Steemit that sets it apart from other blogging platforms?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago

Why do I like being on Steemit?


image source

You can talk about the blockchain and getting paid to write content, and yes, that’s different from other platforms, but that’s not what attracts me to Steemit.

I’ve tried blogging on other platforms and it never really took off. I tried hard, I wrote good content (or so I thought) and tried to engage with my readers.

But I didn’t even know if I had any readers to engage with. I didn’t get likes, I didn’t get comments, I didn’t get any engagement.

I wrote for a whole year, documenting the year I turned 50. I would bump into people in the street who had read my blog and told me that they enjoyed it. But they never left a comment or clicked a like button.
As a writer that’s really frustrating.

But on Steemit I get that the feedback. I get the upvotes, I get the comments, I get the engagement.

For me the upvotes are less about the amount of STEEM or Steem Power earned. It’s more about that fact that someone looked at my post and was engaged enough to click the button.

And the comments are really cool. I get whole conversations!

I even get very cool opportunities to do what I love doing for other people here on Steemit.

Like the story I wrote for @pappa-pepper and his kids about their baby rabbits.

It was lots of fun to write, and I got even more comments!

So, for me that’s the secret sauce that makes Steemit great. I’m not blogging in the wilderness wondering if anyone will ever see what I write.

To date I have 138 followers. That’s 138 people who have looked at my blog and decided they want more of it. I never got anything like that anywhere else, ever!

So my message to you, dear reader, is to hit that like button, not just for me, but for lots of other Stemians out there. And take the time to write a comment. It can mean so much and it takes so little effort.

By engaging you are making Steemit different, valuable, awesome and a place where creative people will want to be.
Thank you to those of you who have followed me, clicked on the upvote button or left a comment. You are the reason I’m still here, bashing away at a keyboard in the dark, when I really should be in bed.


Are you new to steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Steem PowerCurationReputationPostsPowering up

Get your own badges from: https://steemit.com/@elyaque

Sort:  

Well summed up. I did not realize it but yes, I keep checking for replies to my posts.... and get a little jolt of joy when I see the red number next to replies {smile} ..... also I like the addition of the 'viewed' counter.

Yes the viewed counted is also really cool.
I just wish the view count and the vote count matched sometimes ;-)

I was going to say something similar but then realised that if the votes matched the views.... I would NEVER get Steem Power

hehehehe yeah it's one of those conundrums huh?
You always want it to match the higher value. :-)

Good points made. Seeing how many people uvoted a post can feel really good. Not just the Steem earned. Upvoted.

Thanks for that :-)

Couldn't agree more, Trevor!

We may have come for the $$Steem$$, but it's readers that float the boat... ;)

Always happy to dialog with you! ;)😄😇😄

@creatr

Yup. Hopefully the devs can eventually get it to where everything is customizable too so we can make our blogs look like "real" blogs. I'd love to be able to just move my other blogs to Steemit, but I want some control over the look and feel.

Totally agree! That is why i'm getting more and more hooked on Steemit, its the community and the engagement. Upvoted and following, keep it up!

Thanks very much :-)

Well said. I too blogged on other platforms and never got the level of engagement I get on Steemit. upvoted.

Thanks very much :-)
I hope you're enjoying it here as much as I am.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Yeah, i've been bloging for more than a year, and i got more interaction in 8 days since i joined then in the past year of blogging

That seems to be a common story here.
I think it's one of the things @dan and @ned can pat themselves on the back for.

While they may not have gotten everything right (and no-one ever does) they did come up with a model that encourages participation.

And that's a really good thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64367.46
ETH 2522.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65