Short story // My special place

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

trees-768635_1920.jpgI enter the forest at the end of the road and follow a small path leading into the woods. The asphalt turns into dirt and the only man made thing left around me is the trampled path under my feet. The trees wave around and their leaves rustle in the wind. The moonlight creates mysterious looking silhouettes all around me as it shines through the leaves and projects it onto the cliffs. As I walk down the small path, I gaze into the starry expanse. I brush the knee-tall fern leaves with my hands -- it would be great place for hide and seek. I feel like a child again and smile -- such innocent thoughts.

I see nice patch of grass and lay down there for a while. I close my eyes and breathe the fresh cold air around me. You can smell the moisture, the trees and the grass in the air. It's so soothing and crisp you could almost fall asleep -- like a sweet lullaby of the forest. I open my eyes and reach my hand out towards the night sky. It's dark enough to see each and every star clearly. I draw the constellations with my finger -- Orion, Cassiopeia... There's the one that looks like a big dipper -- don't remember the names anymore.

I rise up and look around me. I see the waving trees, the tall ferns and the moonlit cliffs and I think to myself -- Yeah, this is my special place. This is where my heart can rest.


Image source: https://pixabay.com/en/trees-forest-moonlight-lunar-768635/
Free-photos CC0 Creative Commons

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @toxip to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Good post I would be very thankful if you please follow and upvote me thanks.

@toxip Interesting Tale. Hope you obtain what you would like from this job. Have got a pleasant working day..

Thank you very much for your comment! I do this for fun and anything else I gain from this is just extra. I'm glad if others can enjoy reading my writings as much as I enjoy writing them. :)

Congratulations @toxip! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Refreshing to read kind of text. I will follow, i hope you shall give me more breathers like this!

Thank you for the kind words! I have a lot of poems and short stories piled up in my (virtual) drawer. I will definitely post more. I'm glad I can touch people's hearts with my words. That is the best reward :)

@toxip I always have to search for things like this in others peoples texts. I never found anything in mine, except the love I have for them, because they are my own creations. If you wish, you can try to take a look at my work @pricadrian98 Lots of love!

Thanks, I checked out your posts and saw some wonderful poetry there. I'll follow you for more inspiration. You asked for more and I posted a new short story from my archives. Check it out if you want to read more. Cheers!

I will definetly do so!

good post, i'm a newbie too in steemit,..
i'm writing poetry @Poetric-Power, please follow and read my post.

and have a great day,..

Cute, a nice place you took us to there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62641.44
ETH 3343.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47