Short story // From the countryside to the city

in #writing7 years ago

juneau-394721_1920.jpg

I wake up early to the singing of nocturnal birds and grasshoppers. The window is open and I can hear the soft sound of rustling leaves as the wind blows on the birch trees. I smile as I see my wife sleeping soundly while clinging on to the blanket. Her face looks so cute when she's sleeping. I rise up from the bed and close the window before it gets too cold - wouldn't want to it disturb her sleep. I leave the bedroom and take a quick look at her soft cheeks before I go. I make myself a cup of coffee and go outside. I sit on the small cliff by the veranda and watch as the sun rises in the horizon painting everything in shades red and orange with its rays. As I take a deep breath I can smell the fresh scent of dew and the fresh coffee in my mug. I drink my coffee and have a final look at the breathtaking scenery.

I get ready for work and give my half-sleeping wife a kiss on her cheek. She mumbles something in response. I take the first morning train and sit down by the window. As the train takes off, I look at the scenery changing from large fields and lush forests into tall buildings and busy crowds. People everywhere are on their way to work or school. I arrive at my stop and step out into the seemingly endless masses of people. I walk towards a tall building right across the station. I see business men in suits and people selling newspapers on a news stand. Some people are running for their buses and some too tired to do nothing else but cling on to their coffees with a half-sleeping look on their faces. As I approach the front doors of the skyscraper, I see people enter through the glass doors of the building in streams. I stop there for a second and look at the sky. The sun is shining on the sky is blue making the glass windows of the building look like a giant mirror by an ocean. I think to myself what a beautiful day and enter through the doors to my work place.


This is a revision of my old English essay I wrote in high school. I don't know where the original is so I just wrote this from the back of my head. I got 110/100 points, more than the maximum amount because the teacher liked it so much. Honestly this was just romanticized story about my real home. The essay exam had a few topics to choose from and one of them was my ideal place to live. I always loved living close to the nature yet not too far from the city so actually I was already living in such a place. It only takes a few steps to enter the forest from our yard and 35 minutes to the city center by train. This was the first time I had a real inspiration in writing so I remember everything so clearly. Sweet memories!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @toxip to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations @toxip! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63167.88
ETH 3372.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45