Speech recognition

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


Hey guys!

I'm writing this post using speech recognition in Windows 10, which is free! Right now I'm using hack md to write and edit in. It doesn't appear to work quite as well in the steemit post window, but I think I just need to work with it a bit more.

I started doing this because I have a long term problem with my back and neck that affect my ability to type as quickly and effectively as other people. I can do it, but after awhile it puts a really big strain on my neck, which gives me migraines and tendonitis or it just wears me out really quickly and makes me cranky. It's been hindering my ability to write long articles or posts because I'm constantly having to go back and edit things I've mistyped. The strain on my neck kind of sucks, because it's become a cumulative strain after weeks in discord with little rest. Discorditis. My body has told me (with migraines and chiropractic visits), in no uncertain terms that I need to ease up.

I need to get adjusted to speaking in commas and periods, and speaking very clearly so that tape and type don't get confused. There are few words that I had to add or record so that the program could correctly hear them, like emojis and writing . I'm trying to figure out whether I can get emojis into hackmd, and if it allows me to use speech recognition to create certain things like paragraphs and line breaks. Even if I cant, I'm quite happy with the ability to do as much as I'm doing without constantly typing.

So far I'm having really good success with writing this way, and I'm pleased that I finally made the move to check this out. Here is an article that I referred to when I was checking out speech recognition applications. The Beginner's Guide. It made the choice really easy for me. Thanks also to the people in chat who directed me to this app, I really appreciate it. As a warning, this also means I can talk more in chat, so if y'all get tired of hearing me, you will need to tell me to shut up.

I highly recommend to anyone who has a similar issue with slow typing or physical limitations that hinder the time you can spend writing to give speech recognition a try. I feel like I can now feasibly attack a long article without becoming overwhelmed.

Thanks for listening!


Sort:  

Yay! Glad to hear it. Hope this will be of help to you and take some strain off :))

ty! i had a heart attack because it wouldnt reopen and wound up updating my whole computer... argh

I also have back problems due my recent accident and that does make difficult to write for so long, given that I live without a proper desk. Anyway, I am going to check that one out!

Some of it is problematic. There are certain words that it just doesn't want to hear. Like bot. Owen said at that time. See what I mean?

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

I am so glad. you find it useful. I use it myself from time to time when my eyes are playing up due to my MS - I have trouble focusing one or both eyes, sometimes one I cannot see out of much.

Voice recognition has come on in leaps and bounds in recent years and the Windows 10 solution works quite well, I found, after a little training with my voice.

Yes I'm still working on the training. so far I've had to teach it emojis and bot. And it doesn't like the word right. Write. It's always trying to use the word raid or rate. I guess I have to work on my addiction to it up up up up up up food to move the a popup is me laughing

Yay! Glad you found a solution!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by torico from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56