The Rite

in #writing7 years ago

The Rite

They come from the mountains in droves as they do from the shore, each entertaining the
Thought of novelty and perhaps distraction from what has become their over-ordinary lives.
Hearsay has scattered on the four winds to every ripple in the valley and likely beyond of
The unheralded arrival of what is surely the ghost of Lady Savina, returned to reclaim her land.
Upon my entrance to the village, I am swept into a whirlwind of fevered preparations for
What is to be a momentous gathering, according to the chattering maids on either side of me.
It is the luck of the stars that the servants face the predicament of lacking help and bother me
Not with interrogation; the protest of my long-empty stomach distracts me from their banter.
Trying to employ discretion, I recover a crust of bread from the edge of a trestle as we pass
Through the main hall and manage to swallow the whole of it before being pushed into a dimly
Lit chamber and relieved of my threadbare gown and the remnants of my tarnished slippers.
It becomes apparent as I am led to the tub of hot water, that my current state of disrepair
Is insufficient for the presence of supposed royalty; the trio of maids giggle at my reaction
To the succulent scent of blossoms assaulting my senses through the rising tendrils of steam.
I cannot recall the last time I bathed in warm, spiced water, and never before have I had the
Tangled web of knots so gently removed from the uneven lengths of my lightly gingered tresses.
Chaos soon overthrows my thinking as I am thrust into garments that barely allow my breathing,
And the weight of gold-enrobed baubles press down on my travel wearied hands and neck.
The number of eyes upon me as I am paraded into the church is unfathomable, yet stare after
Stare quickly lowers in a perceived show of reverence as I search each one in vain for a sign of reassurance.
The peal of bells and somber chant arrange themselves in a pattern that commences to accentuate
The cadence of my pounding heart, and the gravity of the situation begins to wax evident in my core.

Ⓒ 2017 Tina Jordan All Rights Reserved

crown-2661334_1280.jpg
Image via Pixabay

Sort:  

You write so flipping well tina! I've been off steemit due to a broken laptop coupled with carpal tunnel. trying to have a catch up. Apologies if I haven't been checking in. I love your work

No worries! My life is in chaos at the moment, so finding time to be on here is hard for me too. Thank you! :)

I'm always left wanting to know what happens next when I read your writings, Tina.

I tend to do that on purpose :D Thanks!!

I enjoyed this. I can imagine a hesitant heir at an unwanted, impending coronation. Might make for a good beginning to a longer story.

Thanks so much :)

Upvoted & ReSteemed SiStar GodDess @tinajordan...This is simply GiGorgeous Poetry as Medicine & imagery!!!...Shine On!!!...<3 <3 <3

Thank you so much! <3

My pleasure...you deserve it!

This post has received a 23.92 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @tinajordan. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

thoughts of rejection, fears of loneliness and intimations of your own greatness co-mingle - a beautiful portrait of the conflicted artist. It's all sub-consciously present

Thank you John. Your words mean much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42