Casting Call

in #writing7 years ago

Casting Call

I focus on a menagerie of white and gray characters
parading in a never-before seen act
prior to exiting stage right.
They swirl above me, shapeshifting
into creatures and bizarre faces
as if in confirmation of
the altered state of mind and being
currently sweeping over me.
Soon I lose track of expiring minutes,
changing my strategy to estimating
the hours that I have gone unmissed,
fortuitously making my bed
in this overgrown field just
six miles from the estate.
Feeling, in even the slightest of form,
has severed its acquaintance with me
from my waist down, leaving me with
the ugly, and likely accurate assumption
that my spine is fractured or possibly worse.
My golden mare has apparently followed her thirst
to the nearby stream that eagerly wooed the pair of us
only moments before her impromptu dance
with the most harmless of snakes.
I refuse to saddle her with blame, however;
she always follows my lead, even be it on a reckless whim.
I can no longer hear her. I hear nothing now more
than a rather aggravating buzz which seems
slightly louder in my left ear. My hair seems sticky and
matted behind my head, which suddenly feels
three thousand times heavier than ever before.
What fate awaits me?
Immediately, thoughts of ravenous wolves
prowling near dusk take forefront in my mind.
I slip in and out of consciousness countless times,
inwardly begging my legs to work once again each time I stir.
Uncertain when the heaviness subsided,
I see the clouds much more closely now,
curling around me, inviting me to play and
easing me back into a carefree flight
beyond the edge of impossibility...
one altogether forgotten for past
twenty-three and one half years.

Copyright 2017 Tina Jordan All Rights Reserved

tree-247122_1280.jpg
Image via Pixabay

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Another lovely story <3 well not quite lovely haha xx

:D lol.. Thank you so much! <3

Nicely written. I can picture it in my mind. Keep it up. 😄

Thanks so much! :)

a moment in time frozen into words...a dip into the delirium world of shadowy forms and shapeless fears. Well done, Tina

Thanks John :)

I have started a curation series. Your page was mentioned in the today's curation post. I hope you will like it :D

Wow, that is so generous and cool of you!! :D I thank you kindly from the bottom of my wee little heart. <3

Hope it helps. It is always fun to acknowledge talent and hard work :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.87
ETH 2674.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49