Book ReActions: The King's Cursed Bride - Didn't like it, but it was... interesting.

in #writing6 years ago


Have you ever read something that you captivated you, made you want to finish it even though you didn't like it?

That was what I felt when I went through this WattPad story.

There are novels that you like from the very beginning. There are also some which, you don't quite like at the start, but you slowly fall in love with them. And there are also some that you like at the start but then you'd like to throw into the garbage when you get into the middle part(┛ಠДಠ)┛彡┻━┻

There really are all sorts of stories out there, some brilliant, some lackluster, some annoying, some downright maddening, and some stuff you wish you'd never run across in your entire life (I tend to be sympathetic, so I don't roast writers, really).

This particular story, which is up on WattPad, was something I came across while I was browsing for fantasy books (I just got out of my adventure/thriller reading phase).

The synopsis wasn't bad, so I downloaded it with a bunch of other stuff.

When I started reading it, it was okay, the heroine was rather flaky, running away from home for kind of shallow reasons that seemed important for the girl. But, hey, each to her own, right?

She ends up with a stalker, then gets saved by a charming healer, they end up together for a while but then separate due to emotional problems, yada, yada, yada, having to choose, blah, blah, blah.

(I'm kind of spoilering, without totally ruining everything for those who'd like to read this. So be warned!ლ(`∀´ლ) )

But at this point, it gets darker and goes downhill from there. I felt hints of darkness (☼Д☼) from the beginning, just hints, mind you, but never did I suspect that it would be that bad, seriously. Even though it never gets explicit, I wouldn't let early teens read this, there are parts that are downright depressing( |||)

Still, even though didn't like where it led, I couldn't put it down. The question of the heroine's redemption bothered me, and I was anticipating the reaction of the male lead.

The male lead was surprising, and rather weird. I didn't know what to make of him, kind of like a saint but not actually one? He seemed gullible but not, really a contradicting character.

And the interaction between the two is made, kind of awkward, kind of sweet, but weird all the same (please be reminded that this is my point of view).

Redemption stories are okay and all, but this one was dark, dark but not really, as if it wasn't supposed to be that dark. I really don't know...(☉_☉)

When I'm in my tragedy phase I like reading stuff with tragic endings, the more tragic, painful, the better(๑✧∀✧๑)But this one is a different kind of tragedy, something that concerns a struggle, not only for life, but somehow for sanity (for the heroine, I believe).

If you're okay with not-so-comfortable reads, you're welcome to try this out. I won't disuade you, after all, one of the themes that seems to crop up in the book is choice, the freedom to choose for yourself whether it leads to good things or to disaster.

Well, I finished this one despite the fact it wasn't really my cup of tea. It wasn't a comfortable read, and I guess that the author didn't intend for it to be.


The picture isn't mine, it belongs to the author.


Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82