You Are My Great Day

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

boy-1903181_1920.jpg

Today my family did not receive the news for which we have been waiting and praying. We received no news, in fact. As I was getting the little guy ready for bed tonight, I was telling him how much I loved him. My voice filled with emotion, I began to say, “You…”, and trailed off. He was wriggling into his pajamas, and he chimed in, "...are your great day?” Yes, buddy, That's exactly what you are. You are my great day.

You are my great day when the world is uncertain. You wake up with a smile on your face, climb into my bed (at 4:30 in the morning), and ask if we can sing “Honey”. You attack each day with unending amounts of energy until you literally pass out from exhaustion. When nothing seems right, you always are. You are my great day.

You are my great day when you show great compassion to sad characters in a book. You are learning so much with each passing day and sometimes even share with your baby sister. You have a giggle that is the sweetest of melodies and a hug that fills me to the core with warmth. Your eyes light up when you are carefree and you have an unquenchable thirst for knowledge. You must know how things work, and you must do it yourself. You are my great day.

You are my great day when waiting feels unbearable. You know a little about what is going on, but you carry on being you any way. You love playing outside, and you come in smelling like sunscreen, bug spray, sweat, and sunshine. Exploring is your favorite hobby, with climbing close behind. You say the darndest things and can always bring a smile to my face when the weight of the world is pushing me down. You are my great day.

You are my great day when you get out of bed fifteen million times before falling asleep. You open the door because you just want to tell me you’re OK. You have been through so much in your little lifetime--more than any kid should have to--and you’re still here smiling and laughing through it all. Even when you are sad, you are my great day.

You are my great day when nothing else is. When you come home after we are apart, my heart soars. Your strong will matches my own, and someday, you will be an amazing leader. You are brimming with confidence and assertiveness and can easily express anything your heart desires. You are a work of art--priceless, beautiful, valuable, cherished. You are my great day.

(Image courtesy of pixabay.com)

Sort:  

That is perfect. How could God have seen anything in me sufficient to parent these angels? He didn't - or maybe he did - or perhaps they were sent to rescue momma.

He tells me all of the time that I am his hero and I rescued him. But I agree with you (and I tell him that, too) that he was the one who rescued me. Thank you for the comment. Very touched by it.

That is the most beautiful post I've read so far in my short time on steemit.

I can feel the love between parent and child in this post and it made me smile.

Thank you for sharing something so special and heartfelt. :D

I second that- such beautiful words. Being a parent fills us with so much love it hurts sometimes. Beautiful- save this for him.

Thank you! That's a good idea. I have a poem my dad wrote for me and it was always so special to have something written about me! Hanks for helping me to remember that and the kind words!

Aww that is so special! I'm glad you remembered. At the time it might not mean so much to us to get poems or letters from our parents, but later on down the line, it means more than anything. :) keep it up :)

Thanks, you too! I enjoy reading your work!

Wow thank you! I'm honored by your comment. I appreciate you sharing that with me. So very much!

You are very welcome. :D I meant every single word. :D Have an awesomely wonderful day. :D

This post was nominated for last week's Whaleshares Minnow Support Contest and you have won 25 whaleshares! Leave me your bitshares/openledger username to claim your prize. If you don't have an account yet you can start one for free here.

Wow, I'm so honored (and taken by surprise!) thank you so much! I will have to get one opened up and get back to you. Thank you again! Truly touched.

Hello! I didn't realize that @nepd had arranged something with you already. So if it's not too much trouble, we can just go with his plan. Thanks!!

Simply beautiful very heart felt. Thank you :)

Thank you very much! That means a lot to me, thank you!

Have you seen @stephmckenzie's blog? She has just adopted a teenager, so you might have some journeys in common.
https://steemit.com/blog/@stephmckenzie/congratulations-it-s-a-girl

No but thank you so much for pointing me in that direction! So appreciated!!

No those are just tears man. Let em flow.

And thanks for the two upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nepd from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I'm a new mom, myself and this post speaks to me. While my little guy doesn't do too much besides eat and sleep at the moment (he's just now 3 weeks old), I know the love you're talking about, how no matter what they can turn your day around. Thanks for using #steemmoms tag and I look forward to more of your posts!

Congratulations on your new little boy! It's amazing how they fill your heart, isn't it? While he isn't biologically my own I couldn't love him any more if he was. Thanks for reading and I'm glad it spoke to you!

Awww... I can feel the love. They joys of being a mom. ❤

@thesimplelife, you are a great example for all the other #steemmoms and #steemdads.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts and story. I have 5 "You are my great days" and I can totally relate to everything you said.

I'm so glad it resonated with you and Hank you so much for the kind words. Five! Awesome! I always thought I'd want a big family. Right now I have two.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60