You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Symptoms of PTSD, and my symptoms [PTSD Series: Part 3]

in #writing7 years ago

Great writing. This is interesting. I'm a combat veteran with PTSD. While combat in-and- of-itself can be fairly traumatic, what actually happened was that the chaos of combat re-opened old wounds from childhood. Old traumas. I grew up in a home that was chaotic, filled with anger and alcohol and physical confrontations. I spent 30 days in a psychiatric hospital where I realized that those with PTSD had similar childhood experiences of chaos and abuse, both physical and sexual. The key is to find the root. But that's not always easy. I also turned to psychedelics to heal, (psilocybin mushrooms), because they've done more for me, brought me such profound clarity. More than any other form of therapy and treatment, and I've been through the ringer when it comes to that. It's why I've started to write about it as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52