Daylight Saving Time-- The Most Absurd HolidaysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago

 'Daylight Saving Time' sounds ridiculous because it is, but I've decided to fully support the program.


 Concerning 'Daylight Saving Time', I'm hereby discontinuing my campaign for the peaceful reform and elimination of the 'fall back an hour' time change ritual. 

 In fact, I am now reversing my stance, and will now fully support the time change ritual on the designated days, twice a year, as if it were a sensibly dictated and meaningful cause.
This deliberate flip-flop on my previous stance on DST is mostly because nobody cares, and I can see now that people will accept just about anything if it is official-sounding enough. Also, most of my clocks change automatically, so I barely noticed the 'fall back' thing with the clocks this year, so I'm feeling the apathy.

 Why do the clocks get changed anyway? War, probably. Who really cares? Google it, if it sounds like something of interest. I'm going to mindlessly support the whole thing no matter what anybody says, twice a year, at least.

"Indubitably, Bob, that was one of the best Daylight Saving Times in recent memory."
 

To be clear-- 'Daylight Saving Time' sounds ridiculous because it is, but again, I've decided to fully support the program. I will insist on the importance of mindlessly setting back the clocks every year, because if I enthusiastically get behind it, I'm pretty sure that I can make it look so absurd that people will demand that it be stricken from the program, just so that their children will stop laughing at them. 

"Daylight saving time, yeah... no, I think I get it. Am I adopted?"


For years, I have been an outspoken critic of such pointless tampering with the clocks, and my apparent change of heart may come as a surprise to many of you.  Some of my supporters might insist that I was paid off by somebody to make this reversal on my stance, but I can assure you that this decision was mine alone. I have a plan.

My plan is to infiltrate the system, posing as a rabid advocate for Daylight Saving Time clock tampering, and through guilt-by-association, I'll have it wrecked in no time. When it comes to credibility, it's amazing how much damage an old guy with a beard can do if he's wearing a tutu, or maybe some Ughs. I'll get a slick talking desk and a microphone and be an international pity on TV-- a Utube sensation, and just a shame to witness. I'll froth at the mouth about how everybody must do their duty screwing around with clocks biannually, and that they must do it with extreme religious conviction, and be like me.

That's it then-- I'm done complaining, and if you still want to help, simply join in, make it stupid, and make everyone wish for an early Spring Forward, so that the madness can end. Make sure that it's laced with absurdity. Make the people say to themselves, and to the world, out loud, "NEVER AGAIN".

------------

all images above thanks to Pixabay

follow me @ @therealpaul


Sort:  

Hello @therealpaul,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.001 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here! ,
Want to donate your voting power to support Project Better and earn curation rewards? Click Here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

This gives me an idea! Maybe we could randomly change the time on an almost daily basis. That way all the clocks that don’t automatically synchronize will start reading different times. (The favorite trick of the mental hospitals is to close all the drapes, set all the clocks to different times, and then ask the patients if they know where they are and what date it is. ;)

The world may get so freakin crazy that there will be a general consensus to return to some degree of sanity. ;)

Great post by the way - too funny!

We should implement 86,164 different time zones around the world for each second of the day. This time will then be placed in a computer program along with the name of the city that you are currently located in. An algorithm will take those two parameters and compute the new and improved current time. The result will be the time changing drastically every second (by hours).

Stage 2:
We will sell a new watch that explodes when it reaches the time 6:66 am. This way, customers will constantly need to buy new watches, thus making us rich.

Great idea! It's about TIME someone did this! If I didn't vote already I would write your Steemit name in on the ballet. lol ;)

I'd run for president! Hahaha! You can just check out my page instead! Maybe 2020...

Campaign slogan: A Time for Change!

This is the right approach. As it is, everybody forgets how useless the clock change is every six months. With every second changing, there will be a demand to abolish time altogether, but then the compromise could be; clocks are ok, but don't even think about changing the hour.

One solution that I'd imagined would have been that in the Spring, the clocks 'spring forward' but only by 30 minutes, then leave it there, and everybody should be happy. A compromise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78